Left Side Attribute Reference in Feeder?
-
- Posts: 125
- Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 7:05 pm
- OLAP Product: TM1, PAX, PAW, SPSS
- Version: 2.0.916.10 on RHEL
- Excel Version: 2016
- Location: Minneapolis, MN
Left Side Attribute Reference in Feeder?
Hello all,
I'd like to be able to limit a source dimension in a feeder based on an attribute, something like:
FEEDERS;
['FY10', 'Pass1', 'Account' with Attribute 'Type' = 'Mapped' ] => ['FY10', 'Pass1', ... etc];
Is this possible?
TIA. - John
I'd like to be able to limit a source dimension in a feeder based on an attribute, something like:
FEEDERS;
['FY10', 'Pass1', 'Account' with Attribute 'Type' = 'Mapped' ] => ['FY10', 'Pass1', ... etc];
Is this possible?
TIA. - John
- Martin Ryan
- Site Admin
- Posts: 1989
- Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 9:08 am
- OLAP Product: TM1
- Version: 10.1
- Excel Version: 2010
- Location: Wellington, New Zealand
- Contact:
Re: Left Side Attribute Reference in Feeder?
Not like that, but something likeimage2x wrote: ['FY10', 'Pass1', 'Account' with Attribute 'Type' = 'Mapped' ] => ['FY10', 'Pass1', ... etc];
['FY10', 'Pass 1'] =>
DB(if(attrs('Dim', !Dim, 'Attr')@='Mapped', 'CubeName', ''), !Dim1, !Dim2, !Dim3);
I.e. in the right side of the feeder, do the test, and then if true insert the cube name, if false, then '', which means the feeder won't go anywhere. You have to use the fully quantified DB('...'); ref because the if statement makes it too complex to do the simple [''] ref.
Note, with conditional feeders, if the condition is met (or not met) at load time, then subsequently changes to not met (or met), then the feeder won't update until next time the server is bounced or the rule is saved.
Martin
Please do not send technical questions via private message or email. Post them in the forum where you'll probably get a faster reply, and everyone can benefit from the answers.
Jodi Ryan Family Lawyer
Jodi Ryan Family Lawyer
-
- Posts: 125
- Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 7:05 pm
- OLAP Product: TM1, PAX, PAW, SPSS
- Version: 2.0.916.10 on RHEL
- Excel Version: 2016
- Location: Minneapolis, MN
Re: Left Side Attribute Reference in Feeder?
Thanks Martin.
So with conditional feeders, if the cube I'm feeding is itself, I still would need to use the DB('Cube') function?
So with conditional feeders, if the cube I'm feeding is itself, I still would need to use the DB('Cube') function?
- Steve Rowe
- Site Admin
- Posts: 2455
- Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 4:25 pm
- OLAP Product: TM1
- Version: TM1 v6,v7,v8,v9,v10,v11+PAW
- Excel Version: Nearly all of them
Re: Left Side Attribute Reference in Feeder?
That's right image2x as soon as you move away from a simple square bracket reference you need to use a DB () reference even if you are feeding internally. Cheers
Technical Director
www.infocat.co.uk
www.infocat.co.uk
- Eric
- MVP
- Posts: 373
- Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 1:21 pm
- OLAP Product: TM1
- Version: 9.4
- Excel Version: 2003
- Location: Chicago, IL USA
Re: Left Side Attribute Reference in Feeder?
There is one small thing you can do on the "left side".
Common - Write 3 Line
[…, ‘elem1’, …] => …;
[…, ‘elem2’, …] => …;
[…, ‘elem3’, …] => …;
Possible - Write 1 line
[…, {‘elem1’, ’elem2’, ’elem3’}, …] => …;
I am not sure I would recommend it, but it is something to be aware of.
Common - Write 3 Line
[…, ‘elem1’, …] => …;
[…, ‘elem2’, …] => …;
[…, ‘elem3’, …] => …;
Possible - Write 1 line
[…, {‘elem1’, ’elem2’, ’elem3’}, …] => …;
I am not sure I would recommend it, but it is something to be aware of.
Regards,
Eric
Blog: http://tm1-tipz.blogspot.com
Articles: http://www.google.com/reader/shared/use ... /label/TM1
Production: 32 bit 9.0 SP2, Windows 2000 Advanced Server. Web: 32 bit 9.0 SP2, Windows 2000 Server. Excel 2003
Eric
Blog: http://tm1-tipz.blogspot.com
Articles: http://www.google.com/reader/shared/use ... /label/TM1
Production: 32 bit 9.0 SP2, Windows 2000 Advanced Server. Web: 32 bit 9.0 SP2, Windows 2000 Server. Excel 2003
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 1458
- Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 9:09 am
Re: Left Side Attribute Reference in Feeder?
Couple of things:
a On 9.0 (at least) you can't use the {} notation on the LHS of a feeder;
b For refiring conditional feeders, you can use the TI command CubeProcessFeeders.
a On 9.0 (at least) you can't use the {} notation on the LHS of a feeder;
b For refiring conditional feeders, you can use the TI command CubeProcessFeeders.
-
- Posts: 125
- Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 7:05 pm
- OLAP Product: TM1, PAX, PAW, SPSS
- Version: 2.0.916.10 on RHEL
- Excel Version: 2016
- Location: Minneapolis, MN
Re: Left Side Attribute Reference in Feeder?
Thanks guys. I appreciate the help.
TM1 is incredible... the power of real time data is amazing.
TM1 is incredible... the power of real time data is amazing.
- Steve Rowe
- Site Admin
- Posts: 2455
- Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 4:25 pm
- OLAP Product: TM1
- Version: TM1 v6,v7,v8,v9,v10,v11+PAW
- Excel Version: Nearly all of them
Re: Left Side Attribute Reference in Feeder?
Yes, it's a shame their "improvements" are forcing us to move further away from a real time appraoch... I guess it depends if you are new to TM1 or have had a longer experience.
Technical Director
www.infocat.co.uk
www.infocat.co.uk
-
- Posts: 125
- Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 7:05 pm
- OLAP Product: TM1, PAX, PAW, SPSS
- Version: 2.0.916.10 on RHEL
- Excel Version: 2016
- Location: Minneapolis, MN
Re: Left Side Attribute Reference in Feeder?
Steve, can you elaborate? Is this in reference to what's being planned for the merging of Cognos Planning and TM1? Thx.Steve Rowe wrote:Yes, it's a shame their "improvements" are forcing us to move further away from a real time appraoch... I guess it depends if you are new to TM1 or have had a longer experience.
- Steve Rowe
- Site Admin
- Posts: 2455
- Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 4:25 pm
- OLAP Product: TM1
- Version: TM1 v6,v7,v8,v9,v10,v11+PAW
- Excel Version: Nearly all of them
Re: Left Side Attribute Reference in Feeder?
Hi image2x
See this thread.
If you are new to Tm1 and have gone straight in at 9.4, you probably won't notice the distinction. The object-locking model between version 9.0 and 9.1/9.4 dropped from the server level to the cube level, this happened before Cognos (AFAICR). Anyway I won't sidetrack this thread further here, as I've set up a poll to see what other peoples view is.
See this thread.
If you are new to Tm1 and have gone straight in at 9.4, you probably won't notice the distinction. The object-locking model between version 9.0 and 9.1/9.4 dropped from the server level to the cube level, this happened before Cognos (AFAICR). Anyway I won't sidetrack this thread further here, as I've set up a poll to see what other peoples view is.
Technical Director
www.infocat.co.uk
www.infocat.co.uk