Page 1 of 1
Turbo Integrator Error handling
Posted: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:14 am
by zodiacviv
While running TI process through action button in TM1 Perspective how can i display error descriptions regarding corresponding TI process in excel perspective only. Or if its not possible then can i get that same error description in notepad or excel or word that will prompt automatically with complete error details so that user don't have to go to TM1ProcessError.log file each time to check error. Or if you any enhanced error reporting that would help application user of Excel Perspective to easily visualise their error occuring while running respective TI Process. Any kind of your guidance is highly appreciated.
Re: Turbo Integrator Error handling
Posted: Thu Jan 09, 2014 2:44 pm
by jim wood
You do something with Ascii Output. That would give you a file to work with. The rest is Excel. Saying that you already have the error log file to work with, all you have to do is resolve the file name,
Jim.
Re: Turbo Integrator Error handling
Posted: Thu Jan 09, 2014 2:45 pm
by jim wood
That or you could create an error log cube and load the details in there and display them on the next sheet.
Re: Turbo Integrator Error handling
Posted: Thu Jan 09, 2014 3:23 pm
by tomok
jim wood wrote:That or you could create an error log cube and load the details in there and display them on the next sheet.
This is my preferred approach when errors needed to be retained for future reference, like when there are exceptions that need to be "worked".
Re: Turbo Integrator Error handling
Posted: Thu Jan 09, 2014 3:53 pm
by Duncan P
If you are writing to a cube does the outcome not depend on whether the TM1 error is minor or serious? If it is serious I was under the impression that all data written to cubes by the process would be rolled back. Unfortunately I am not in a position to check this myself.
Re: Turbo Integrator Error handling
Posted: Thu Jan 09, 2014 3:59 pm
by zodiacviv
jim wood wrote:You do something with Ascii Output. That would give you a file to work with. The rest is Excel. Saying that you already have the error log file to work with, all you have to do is resolve the file name,
Jim.
HI Jim, thanks for your valuable reply. If possible can you explain me how to achieve this error reporting using ASCII Output.
Re: Turbo Integrator Error handling
Posted: Thu Jan 09, 2014 5:18 pm
by jim wood
You would combine CellIsUpdatable with AsciiOutput. You can look both of these up in the Reference guide. Also you could include dimix / ElLev checks for each dimension to find where the error is. You'd combine CellIsUpdatable with checks I just mentioned when writing to a cube as well. When writing to a cube you can combine the control dimension }processes with a string reference dimension. So say for example the reference dimension contained 1,2,3, etc you can increment it every time your errors reaches the number of elements within the dimension. You can also expand the cube to include the likes of time executed and a few other things depending on what you want to display.
As Duncan mentioned this only covers minor errors. You can cover major errors by executing the main process from a wrapper process. ExecuteProcess returns an error code that you can in turn use to either export to flat file or write back to your cube.
I hope this helps,
Jim.
Re: Turbo Integrator Error handling
Posted: Thu Jan 09, 2014 5:25 pm
by zodiacviv
jim wood wrote:You would combine CellIsUpdatable with AsciiOutput. You can look both of these up in the Reference guide. Also you could include dimix / ElLev checks for each dimension to find where the error is. You'd combine CellIsUpdatable with checks I just mentioned when writing to a cube as well. When writing to a cube you can combine the control dimension }processes with a string reference dimension. So say for example the reference dimension contained 1,2,3, etc you can increment it every time your errors reaches the number of elements within the dimension. You can also expand the cube to include the likes of time executed and a few other things depending on what you want to display.
As Duncan mentioned this only covers minor errors. You can cover major errors by executing the main process from a wrapper process. ExecuteProcess returns an error code that you can in turn use to either export to flat file or write back to your cube.
I hope this helps,
Jim.
Thanks Jim
really this helps a lot...
Can you guide me steps how to direct ExecuteProcess returned error into flat file(notepad) ?
Re: Turbo Integrator Error handling
Posted: Thu Jan 09, 2014 7:21 pm
by jim wood
Did you read through help on ExecuteProcess in either reference guide or the documentation that you can find with in Architect? It tells you what error code ExecuteProcess returns.