Page 1 of 1
Feeders not feeding after dimension rebuilt
Posted: Thu May 07, 2009 3:02 am
by telula
Hello,
This is my continuing saga.
I have to rebuild my dimension as we have outsourced our accounting functions and they have different element names and consolidation for the GL Accounts.
I have successfully rebuilt the GL Account dimension using xdi.But one of the feeders in the cube dont seem to work.I have tried using CubeProcessFeeders('Expense'); in a TI process. That didnt seem to work.
Will Unload Cube and re-loading it with data help ?
Re: Feeders not feeding after dimension rebuilt
Posted: Thu May 07, 2009 3:07 am
by Alan Kirk
telula wrote:Hello,
This is my continuing saga.
I have to rebuild my dimension as we have outsourced our accounting functions and they have different element names and consolidation for the GL Accounts.
I have successfully rebuilt the GL Account dimension using xdi.But one of the feeders in the cube dont seem to work.I have tried using CubeProcessFeeders('Expense'); in a TI process. That didnt seem to work.
Will Unload Cube and re-loading it with data help ?
Possibly, but if I change feeders I always reboot the server. Some may consider it overkill but at least it ensures that I won't get what may be euphemistically called "anomalous behaviour". After a full reboot if you still have a problem you know that it's most likely with your feeders, not with any residue in the memory.
Re: Feeders not feeding after dimension rebuilt
Posted: Thu May 07, 2009 5:18 am
by nhavis
Sounds like your feeders are not correct which could have:
a) Always been the case but you never noticed - note that even though a cell is fed, it is not necessarily being fed properly.
b) Never been the case but now you have changed dimension elements
Re: Feeders not feeding after dimension rebuilt
Posted: Thu May 07, 2009 5:40 am
by telula
I have re-booted and its still not feeding
This is whats in the rules of the cube
['Actual + Forecast','Flag1']=N:[Forecast','Flag1'];
and the feeder is
['Forecast','Flag1']=>['Actual + Forecast','Flag1'];
Re: Feeders not feeding after dimension rebuilt
Posted: Thu May 07, 2009 5:49 am
by Alan Kirk
telula wrote:I have re-booted and its still not feeding
This is whats in the rules of the cube
['Actual + Forecast','Flag1']=N:[Forecast','Flag1'];
and the feeder is
['Forecast','Flag1']=>['Actual + Forecast','Flag1'];
Do you have your
Skipcheck; and
Feeders; statements in the correct place?
Also, are those the EXACT rules and feeders? (In the rule that you've cited you're missing an opening quote in front of Forecast on the right hand side.)
Are there any elements that could be causing ambiguity (that is, same element name in a different dimension)?
Most likely the rule shouldn't compile if the syntax isn't correct, but it's worth checking the basics.
Also, how have you checked whether the values are fed; have you used the Trace Feeders menu item, or are you just not getting values and assuming that they're not fed?
Re: Feeders not feeding after dimension rebuilt
Posted: Thu May 07, 2009 6:01 am
by telula
ok, I have traced the problem to the rule, it is not attaching to the cube becayse there is
['Forecast', 'A321021 - Travel Overseas - Airfares','Row 1','Amount'] = N:
IF (Numbr(!Year)>=2007,
DB('Travel','Forecast',!Year,!Month,!Projects By Division,!Contract, 'All Destinations','Total Costs'), Continue);
It gives a message "Element Not found". Even though the element is in the dimension.
Re: Feeders not feeding after dimension rebuilt
Posted: Thu May 07, 2009 6:48 am
by telula
its ok, i solved it by just using the code ie. A321021 in the line.
Re: Feeders not feeding after dimension rebuilt
Posted: Thu May 07, 2009 7:32 am
by lotsaram
Best practice is never use an alias in a rule. If the alias changes your rule breaks. ... and "rule breaks" in the context of loading the server means not just the individual line of code but the whole rule file itself will not attach to the cube. It's a good lesson to learn telula, I hope it hasn't been too painful.
Re: Feeders not feeding after dimension rebuilt
Posted: Thu May 07, 2009 8:20 am
by mattgoff
Speaking of painful lessons, I would also advise adding explicit dimension names to all rules and feeders. I've been burned a few times when I added an element to a dimension which silently broke my rules when it caused them to become ambiguous.
Matt
Re: Feeders not feeding after dimension rebuilt
Posted: Fri May 08, 2009 1:17 am
by nhavis
To specify a dimension for an element: dimensionName:'elementName'
eg. [account:'1000', version:'forecast'] = [version:'actual'];