Page 7 of 11
Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz
Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2024 1:40 pm
by Mark RMBC
Hi,
I have not used this myself but I believe you enter the relevant directories, separated by a comma in the cfg file, like so,
DatabaseDirectory="c:\tm1dims;c:\tm1cubes"
The documentation stresses that this does the following:
Accesses cubes and dimensions from each of the specified directories. If there is a duplicate object, Cognos TM1 accesses the object from the first directory specified.
Writes changes to the directory where the object is located. When you create a new object, Cognos TM1 writes to the first directory you had specified.
Therefore, you may want to for example, place the dimensions in the tm1dims directory and the cubes in the tm1cubes directory.
I suppose the use case for this is simply for structure and manageability.
I would certainly need to see a stronger use case than the above to actually ever use this.
regards,
Mark
Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz
Posted: Wed Aug 14, 2024 8:19 am
by lotsaram
Multiple database directories was great way back when. It was quite useful for segregating common objects like TI libraries or common utility cubes where the definition was shared across multiple instances in a larger corporate TM1 landscape. These days it is just a trivia question. No one uses this anymore now that we have git.
Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz
Posted: Fri Aug 16, 2024 3:29 pm
by Elessar
Correct answer:
In addition to official documentation:
- Files are created in the 1st directory. After you move them to another directory, they are updated there.
- Use a separate folder for *.rux and *.pro files in your favorite version control system
There is a great explanation of this by
mce here:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=13425&p=66007&hilit ... ion#p66007
Winner of this round is
Mark RMBC!
@
Lotsaram: Totally agree, but I think <5% companies could beat this Tm1+git integration yet. Approach with a separate "for code" folder and non-git version control still exists in many projects.
Question #33:
Administrator wants to launch a huge 3-hour-long data copy process. He has informed users not to change any data so that they do not interrupt the process, but still there is no guarantee. How can he prevent all users from interrupting the process?
Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz
Posted: Fri Aug 16, 2024 4:04 pm
by MarenC
Hi,
Please tell me you are not thinking of,
EnableBulkLoadMode
I just don't trust this process!
Maren
Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz
Posted: Fri Aug 16, 2024 4:20 pm
by Elessar
Is it your answer?

Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz
Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2024 11:14 am
by MarenC
Hi,
Elessar wrote: ↑Fri Aug 16, 2024 4:20 pm
Is it your answer?
Yes, I guess it is.
Maren
Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz
Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2024 6:44 am
by Elessar
Any other approaches?
Bulk Load is a nuke
Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz
Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2024 12:46 pm
by Emixam
You can make all users read only using the }ClientProperties and put a 1 under ReadOnlyUser but it will prevent them from doing input on other cubes that are not impacted by this data load.
Another option could be: lock the cube (}CubeProperties) and use CubeLockOverride(1) in your TI and allow writing to a locked cube
Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz
Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2024 5:32 pm
by ardi
Elessar wrote: ↑Fri Aug 16, 2024 3:29 pm
Correct answer:
In addition to official documentation:
- Files are created in the 1st directory. After you move them to another directory, they are updated there.
- Use a separate folder for *.rux and *.pro files in your favorite version control system
There is a great explanation of this by
mce here:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=13425&p=66007&hilit ... ion#p66007
Winner of this round is
Mark RMBC!
@
Lotsaram: Totally agree, but I think <5% companies could beat this Tm1+git integration yet. Approach with a separate "for code" folder and non-git version control still exists in many projects.
Question #33:
Administrator wants to launch a huge 3-hour-long data copy process. He has informed users not to change any data so that they do not interrupt the process, but still there is no guarantee. How can he prevent all users from interrupting the process?
We have a control cube where we maintain some flags. One of the Flags is to make all users Read Only (A rule in }ClientProperties populates the ReadOnlyUser measure for all users )
The other Flag is to disable the users completely ( A rule in }ClientProperties populates the IsDisabled measure for all users except some special users)
Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz
Posted: Fri Aug 23, 2024 3:12 pm
by Elessar
Correct answer:
- ReadOnlyUser in the }ClientProperties cube - prevent from changing data
- Use locks
- IsDisabled in the }ClientProperties cube.
!You cannot disable Admin
!Need to kick current sessions (via tm1py, for example)
- Bulkloadmode - disable everything. Cannot be cancelled: only by server restart. Cannot monitor it using TM1Top: You can only use tm1server.log (if the process launches other processes - you will see "started-finished).
OMG I do not know how to share this point

Maren was 1st, Emixam gave 2 answers and Ardi explained a good solution with control cube.
It's the first time, when winners of this round are
MarenC, Emixam and Ardi! All three have got 0,(3) points!
Question #34:
Oh no! I've set ReadOnlyUser in the }ClientProperties cube for all admins also. Now I cannot change it because I'm readonly admin now. What should I do?
Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz
Posted: Fri Aug 23, 2024 3:52 pm
by Emixam
Even if you are ReadOnlyUser, you can still create and execute TI. Simply create and execute a TI with the following command:
Code: Select all
CellPutN(0, '}ClientProperties', 'my_name', 'ReadOnlyUser');
Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz
Posted: Fri Aug 23, 2024 4:30 pm
by MarenC
Hi,
the scoreboard is confusing me somewhat!?
Maren
Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz
Posted: Fri Aug 23, 2024 8:14 pm
by Elessar
MarenC wrote: ↑Fri Aug 23, 2024 4:30 pm
Hi,
the scoreboard is confusing me somewhat!?
Maren
0.(3) is periodic decimal. 0.(3) = 0.33333333333333333333333... = 1/3
In your case, 7.8(3) = 7.83333333333333333333... = 7.5 + 1/3
Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz
Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2024 4:28 pm
by Elessar
Correct answer:
No panic, you still can change rules and processes. Create a process to set Readonlyuser=0 for you, or a rule. Thanks
Wim for bringing this up:
http://www.tm1forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=14057
Winner of this round is
Emixam! Good start!
Question #35:
When should I enable Security Access for TI Process?

- Security Access.png (7.65 KiB) Viewed 30986 times
Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz
Posted: Sun Sep 01, 2024 5:34 pm
by Adam
It’s for processes that non-admins will be running and the process interacts with security in the db. Examples include creation of a dimension element followed by ElementSecurityPut. Without the security access flag set, the process fails.
Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz
Posted: Mon Sep 02, 2024 2:15 am
by Emixam
On which client you took this screenshot?
Adam is right.
Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz
Posted: Mon Sep 02, 2024 2:47 am
by Adam
Emixam wrote: ↑Mon Sep 02, 2024 2:15 am
On which client you took this screenshot?
Adam is right.
I like the iconography too!
Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz
Posted: Fri Sep 06, 2024 4:02 pm
by Elessar
Correct answer:
You need to enable Security Access when process needs to change security.
BTW, it does not matter if process is launched by admin or non-admin user: it will fail anyway without Security Access enabled.
Winner of this round is
Adam!
Screenshot is taken from TM1 Architect. It is depreciated, but still super-useful.
Question #36:
Different formats are set for all dimensions in a cube. Which one will be displayed?
Dimension order in cube is following:
- Organization
- EmployeeList
- Year
- Version
- JobType
- Employee

- Image 66.png (53.04 KiB) Viewed 30386 times
Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz
Posted: Fri Sep 06, 2024 4:24 pm
by MarenC
Hi,
I believe the Version Format will be displayed because that is stacked on the column and is the last dimension on the column.
Maren
Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz
Posted: Mon Sep 09, 2024 1:00 am
by ardi
TM1 applies the formatting of the Most inner Row dimension, in your case it would be the formatting defined in your Version dimension.
Just curious: What you have called as Employee Dimension seems to be your Measures dimension in the cube?