Hi All,
In already existing system, i need to identify what picklists are defined.
can someone please help me in knowing how to find out existing picklists apart from manually?
Regards,
Deepak Jain
Identifying existing picklists
-
- Regular Participant
- Posts: 152
- Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 10:32 am
- OLAP Product: TM1
- Version: 9.5.2; 10.2.2
- Excel Version: 2007
- jim wood
- Site Admin
- Posts: 3958
- Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 1:51 pm
- OLAP Product: TM1
- Version: PA 2.0.7
- Excel Version: Office 365
- Location: 37 East 18th Street New York
- Contact:
Re: Identifying existing picklists
Obviously you can do a scan of the data directory for picklist cubes. Also you'll need to do a flush through all element attribute cubes for any picklists set up that way. That's not that diffcult to do as all attribute cubes have 2 dimensions. If you build a process to scan the data directory for picklist or attribute cubes, youcould pass the attribute cube names to a subprocess. The is theotical, and while possible this is a ot of effort when you can jst have a look,
Jim.
Edit: Silly me, you could use the }Cubes dimension, rather than scanning through the data directory.
Jim.
Edit: Silly me, you could use the }Cubes dimension, rather than scanning through the data directory.
Struggling through the quagmire of life to reach the other side of who knows where.
Shop at Amazon
Jimbo PC Builds on YouTube
OS: Mac OS 11 PA Version: 2.0.7
Shop at Amazon
Jimbo PC Builds on YouTube
OS: Mac OS 11 PA Version: 2.0.7
-
- Posts: 33
- Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 3:24 pm
- OLAP Product: TM1
- Version: 10.2
- Excel Version: Excel 2010
Re: Identifying existing picklists
The worth lies in having to pull out this information from a server that has 300+ dimensions.jim wood wrote:The is theotical, and while possible this is a ot of effort when you can jst have a look,
DJ,
The below TI code will TextOutput a list of Dimension, their measure elements and the specific picklist used in that element:
Please note: this will not get you stuff from the picklist cube: this works only on the attributes cube. The Ti process for the picklist cube is a little bit trickier but it is still do-able...
Note
1. my naming convention leaves a lot to be desired.
2. The seond scan (for }ElementAttributes_}...) is to prevent getting picklists used in the attributes for control dimensions. If you DO want these listed out as well, you can comment out the second scan .
Code: Select all
dim = '}Dimensions' ;
size = DIMSIZ ( dim );
tgtfile = 'E:\DEBUG\dimList.txt' ;
TextOutput ( tgtFile , 'Dimension' , 'Element' , 'Picklist' );
idx = 0 ;
while (idx < size ) ;
idx = idx + 1;
dimEl = DIMNM ( dim , idx );
IF ( SCAN ( '}ElementAttributes_' , dimEl ) = 1 & SCAN ( '}ElementAttributes_}' , dimEl ) = 0 );
IF ( DIMIX ( dimEl , 'Picklist' ) >0 );
dimWithPicklist = SUBST ( dimEl , 20, LONG(dimEl) - 19 ) ;
elementIdx = 0;
msrSize = DIMSIZ ( dimWithPicklist ) ;
WHILE ( elementIdx < msrSize );
elementIdx = elementIdx + 1 ;
measureElement = DIMNM ( dimWithPicklist , elementIdx ) ;
IF ( CellGetS ( dimEl , measureElement , 'Picklist' ) @<> '' );
TextOutput ( tgtFile , dimWithPicklist , measureElement , CellGetS ( dimEl , measureElement , 'Picklist' ) );
ENDIF;
END;
ENDIF;
ENDIF;
END;
The Java_to_TM1 Convert
TM1 Version 10.1, 10.2, Cognos Insight 10.1, 10.2
Local: Windows 7 Professional, Excel 2007
Server: Windows Server 2008 64-bit
p.s. I have a healthy disregard for Performance Muddler.
TM1 Version 10.1, 10.2, Cognos Insight 10.1, 10.2
Local: Windows 7 Professional, Excel 2007
Server: Windows Server 2008 64-bit
p.s. I have a healthy disregard for Performance Muddler.