Page 1 of 1

TM1 cube cannot accept 0 (zero)

Posted: Tue May 23, 2017 6:59 am
by satriaji_1191
In TM1, I have 1 form and 2 cubes, let's say form A, cube A, and cube B.

Form A (web based) used to keep an input data from user and store it into Cube A.
And there is a process to move a data from Cube A into Cube B.

What happen next is:
1. Storing and replacing data from Form A into Cube A with any value including 0 (zero) value -> Success
2. Moving and replacing data from Cube A into Cube B with non 0 (zero) value -> Success
3. Moving and replacing data from Cube A into Cube B with 0 (zero) value -> Failed

Is it because of TM1 cube cannot accept 0 (zero) value when moving/replacing from one cube into another cube or there is some special function to do this?

Please kindly your advice.

Regards,
Aji

Re: TM1 cube cannot accept 0 (zero)

Posted: Tue May 23, 2017 7:07 am
by Paul Segal
It's difficult to be sure without more specifics, but it's possible that in your scenario 3 the view used has zero suppression turned on, in which case the behavior is as expected. Normally the best option is to zero out the receiving cube, or relevant portion thereof, and then do the move/copy, but it rather depends on your design.

Re: TM1 cube cannot accept 0 (zero)

Posted: Tue May 23, 2017 8:56 am
by satriaji_1191
The use of a zero suppression is same either on or off (I just try), a 0 (zero) value still cannot move from Cube A to cube B.

So, TM1 cube cannot just accept a 0 (zero) value without using some function first (zero-out)? Is it a product limitation?

Re: TM1 cube cannot accept 0 (zero)

Posted: Tue May 23, 2017 9:26 am
by Wim Gielis
Did you mean the function 'ViewExtractSkipZeroesSet' ?

Re: TM1 cube cannot accept 0 (zero)

Posted: Tue May 23, 2017 10:08 am
by satriaji_1191
I mean is TM1 cube cannot move a 0 (zero) value from one cube to another cube without using a "zero out" function such as "move zero out" or "cube clear data" first?

Re: TM1 cube cannot accept 0 (zero)

Posted: Tue May 23, 2017 10:29 am
by Paul Segal
The short answer is yes, TM1 can "move" a 0 from one cube to another without using a zero out function. We really need more detail of what you're doing and how you're doing it to provide any assistance. It would be useful if you could read the forum guidelines and put your question with them in mind.

Re: TM1 cube cannot accept 0 (zero)

Posted: Tue May 23, 2017 12:10 pm
by BrianL
It's also worth noting that by default, TM1 doesn't store zero values and considers a cell containing zero to be empty. You can change this behavior on a per-cube basis by adding the UNDEFVALS keyword to the cube rule.