Can not open location in the cloud environment as a datasource.
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2024 6:58 am
- OLAP Product: TM1
- Version: 2.00.00
- Excel Version: 2450
Can not open location in the cloud environment as a datasource.
Hi everyone.
First a little bit of context.
I am working for a company developing in Planning Analytics in cloud. We have a load process that transfers data from a data warehouse to a Cube. This process sometimes retrieves errors because the dimensions are not updated. Therefore, I want to send an email after the process to the data warehouse team so they can see these issues.
I am writing a process for this. The process needs to look for the last error log and then pass it as a parameter for a PowerShell script on the designated server that will send the email with the log attached. Because the error log names change with a difficult naming structure, I need to open the tm1server log, go to the last line, and scan for the error log name.
The problem is that I put the location where this log is placed as a datasource in the process, but I receive the error: "Error: Prolog procedure line (0): Unable to open data source 'S:\prod\LC\Logs\tm1server'". This is strange to me because we have admin credentials, and this is the same server where our Planning Analytics environment is placed.
If someone knows how to fix this, what could be failing, or another method to solve this issue, it would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you.
First a little bit of context.
I am working for a company developing in Planning Analytics in cloud. We have a load process that transfers data from a data warehouse to a Cube. This process sometimes retrieves errors because the dimensions are not updated. Therefore, I want to send an email after the process to the data warehouse team so they can see these issues.
I am writing a process for this. The process needs to look for the last error log and then pass it as a parameter for a PowerShell script on the designated server that will send the email with the log attached. Because the error log names change with a difficult naming structure, I need to open the tm1server log, go to the last line, and scan for the error log name.
The problem is that I put the location where this log is placed as a datasource in the process, but I receive the error: "Error: Prolog procedure line (0): Unable to open data source 'S:\prod\LC\Logs\tm1server'". This is strange to me because we have admin credentials, and this is the same server where our Planning Analytics environment is placed.
If someone knows how to fix this, what could be failing, or another method to solve this issue, it would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you.
-
- Regular Participant
- Posts: 427
- Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2019 9:55 am
- OLAP Product: Planning Analytics
- Version: Planning Analytics 2.0
- Excel Version: Excel 2016
Re: Can not open location in the cloud environment as a datasource.
Hi,
In IBM cloud you need to use the relative file path and not the S:, so something like ..\02 Logs\
Maren
In IBM cloud you need to use the relative file path and not the S:, so something like ..\02 Logs\
Maren
- gtonkin
- MVP
- Posts: 1247
- Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 3:03 pm
- OLAP Product: TM1
- Version: Latest and greatest
- Excel Version: Office 365 64-bit
- Location: JHB, South Africa
- Contact:
Re: Can not open location in the cloud environment as a datasource.
You could also try use the Data source as Location instead of file and then supply S:\prod\LC\Logs\tm1server... as the Location.
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2024 6:58 am
- OLAP Product: TM1
- Version: 2.00.00
- Excel Version: 2450
Re: Can not open location in the cloud environment as a datasource.
This is exactly what I am doing, data source is location and the location was specified as "S:\prod\LC\Logs\tm1server" i have tried with "..\LC\Logs\tm1server" too.
- gtonkin
- MVP
- Posts: 1247
- Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 3:03 pm
- OLAP Product: TM1
- Version: Latest and greatest
- Excel Version: Office 365 64-bit
- Location: JHB, South Africa
- Contact:
Re: Can not open location in the cloud environment as a datasource.
Have you tried with \\data\S\prod... instead of S:\prod...
Edit: But like Maren suggests, I think most of us use relative paths as it generally makes more sense, especially with multiple databases that always need to reference the "same" model folders.
Edit: But like Maren suggests, I think most of us use relative paths as it generally makes more sense, especially with multiple databases that always need to reference the "same" model folders.
Last edited by gtonkin on Mon Jul 29, 2024 11:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Regular Participant
- Posts: 427
- Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2019 9:55 am
- OLAP Product: Planning Analytics
- Version: Planning Analytics 2.0
- Excel Version: Excel 2016
Re: Can not open location in the cloud environment as a datasource.
Hi,
Something like ..\Logs\tm1server.log or as George advises, but with .log included.
Maren
Well obviously not as what is tm1server supposed to mean? You need to specify a specifc file I assume?So for the example on my post i should write as a location "..\Logs\tm1server" ?
Something like ..\Logs\tm1server.log or as George advises, but with .log included.
Maren
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2024 6:58 am
- OLAP Product: TM1
- Version: 2.00.00
- Excel Version: 2450
Re: Can not open location in the cloud environment as a datasource.
Yes, I have tried with tm1server.txt and tm1server.log too with the same error message, at this point I'm very desperate.MarenC wrote: ↑Mon Jul 29, 2024 11:05 am Hi,
Well obviously not as what is tm1server supposed to mean? You need to specify a specifc file I assume?So for the example on my post i should write as a location "..\Logs\tm1server" ?
Something like ..\Logs\tm1server.log or as George advises, but with .log included.
Maren
- gtonkin
- MVP
- Posts: 1247
- Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 3:03 pm
- OLAP Product: TM1
- Version: Latest and greatest
- Excel Version: Office 365 64-bit
- Location: JHB, South Africa
- Contact:
Re: Can not open location in the cloud environment as a datasource.
What may be happening here base on what you are trying to do and the last log is that in Epilog, the error log is still open/in use and is named something like TM1ProcessError....log$
In some of my processes where I need to email this to someone, the first part of my powershell script waits 3 seconds to allow the TI process to complete, rename the log and release any locks.
In some of my processes where I need to email this to someone, the first part of my powershell script waits 3 seconds to allow the TI process to complete, rename the log and release any locks.
-
- Regular Participant
- Posts: 427
- Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2019 9:55 am
- OLAP Product: Planning Analytics
- Version: Planning Analytics 2.0
- Excel Version: Excel 2016
Re: Can not open location in the cloud environment as a datasource.
Hi,
following on from what George said, if it isn't a locking issue on the file then the only thing I can think of is that your log folder is called something different to what you imagine it is, i.e. it isn't called Logs.
If these suggestions do not work then screen image of the process data source or the prolog if the datasource name is changed. And screen image of the folder location of the log file would be most helpful.
Maren
following on from what George said, if it isn't a locking issue on the file then the only thing I can think of is that your log folder is called something different to what you imagine it is, i.e. it isn't called Logs.
If these suggestions do not work then screen image of the process data source or the prolog if the datasource name is changed. And screen image of the folder location of the log file would be most helpful.
Maren
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2024 6:58 am
- OLAP Product: TM1
- Version: 2.00.00
- Excel Version: 2450
Re: Can not open location in the cloud environment as a datasource.
This should not be the case because, at this moment, this is a separate process, and the process is not even getting to the prologue where we need to read the log and look for the last line. I cannot get to the preview of the datasource either.gtonkin wrote: ↑Mon Jul 29, 2024 11:18 am What may be happening here base on what you are trying to do and the last log is that in Epilog, the error log is still open/in use and is named something like TM1ProcessError....log$
In some of my processes where I need to email this to someone, the first part of my powershell script waits 3 seconds to allow the TI process to complete, rename the log and release any locks.
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 1458
- Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 9:09 am
Re: Can not open location in the cloud environment as a datasource.
I've been working with IBM SaaS for some time. Looking at the structures you get when you create a new instance. I'm 99% sure that the only path that will work for accessing the logs folder is '..\logs\<filename>'.
Formulations like \\data\s\logs\<filename> are for 'Data Source Name' in the rich client, which is (sadly, for someone who remembers the excitement when TI arrived in 7.0, replacing Process Worksheets), about to go to the IBM graveyard of useful tools which are not worth maintaining or supporting. It is possible that it might work, but then you would be accessing a file via a network share on the server on which TM1 is running - no point and probably slower.
If you are a purist then you could use GetProcessErrorFileDirectory to pick up the logs folder, but you'll finish up in the same place.
Formulations like \\data\s\logs\<filename> are for 'Data Source Name' in the rich client, which is (sadly, for someone who remembers the excitement when TI arrived in 7.0, replacing Process Worksheets), about to go to the IBM graveyard of useful tools which are not worth maintaining or supporting. It is possible that it might work, but then you would be accessing a file via a network share on the server on which TM1 is running - no point and probably slower.
If you are a purist then you could use GetProcessErrorFileDirectory to pick up the logs folder, but you'll finish up in the same place.
-
- MVP
- Posts: 3218
- Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 6:26 pm
- OLAP Product: TM1, Jedox
- Version: PAL 2.1.5
- Excel Version: Microsoft 365
- Location: Brussels, Belgium
- Contact:
Re: Can not open location in the cloud environment as a datasource.
I also use the Location type and then the . and .. relative paths.
What should work too (given remarks of David) for Data source name for Client is:
- S:\prod\TM1MODELNAME\Inputfiles\data.csv
- \\data\s\prod\TM1MODELNAME\Inputfiles\data.csv
- \\10.175.10.91\s\prod\TM1MODELNAME\Inputfiles\data.csv
For Data source name for Server:
- S:\prod\TM1MODELNAME\Inputfiles\data.csv
- NOT.......... \\data\s\prod\TM1MODELNAME\Inputfiles\data.csv
- NOT.......... \\10.175.10.91\s\prod\TM1MODELNAME\Inputfiles\data.csv
Adjust as per your situation. For me relative paths are number 1 candidates.
Even better, store the Data source name for Server (or a main folder above) in a system configuration cube and retrieve it at runtime.
What should work too (given remarks of David) for Data source name for Client is:
- S:\prod\TM1MODELNAME\Inputfiles\data.csv
- \\data\s\prod\TM1MODELNAME\Inputfiles\data.csv
- \\10.175.10.91\s\prod\TM1MODELNAME\Inputfiles\data.csv
For Data source name for Server:
- S:\prod\TM1MODELNAME\Inputfiles\data.csv
- NOT.......... \\data\s\prod\TM1MODELNAME\Inputfiles\data.csv
- NOT.......... \\10.175.10.91\s\prod\TM1MODELNAME\Inputfiles\data.csv
Adjust as per your situation. For me relative paths are number 1 candidates.
Even better, store the Data source name for Server (or a main folder above) in a system configuration cube and retrieve it at runtime.
Best regards,
Wim Gielis
IBM Champion 2024-2025
Excel Most Valuable Professional, 2011-2014
https://www.wimgielis.com ==> 121 TM1 articles and a lot of custom code
Newest blog article: Deleting elements quickly
Wim Gielis
IBM Champion 2024-2025
Excel Most Valuable Professional, 2011-2014
https://www.wimgielis.com ==> 121 TM1 articles and a lot of custom code
Newest blog article: Deleting elements quickly