Connect the ODBC on -premise with the Planning Analytics on Cloud

krithika331
OLAP Product: Cognos TM1
Version: 10.2
Excel Version: 2010

Connect the ODBC on -premise with the Planning Analytics on Cloud

Post by krithika331 »

Hi,

I am having the query regarding the Planning Analytics which will be hosted in Cloud environment. Our RDBMS source is on-premise data source server. How can we have the ODBC datasource connect to the PA on cloud. I don't think we have the WorkSpace available in the cloud. what is the approach to follow and the options available. I am new to the Planning Analytics migration from older TM1 version.

And also, how do we manage the security groups and Users. Currently TM1 Server authenticates users using IBM Cognos security but now Planning Analytics which will be hosted on cloud, what will be the challenging things to consider in using Cognos authentication for Planning Analytics on cloud.

Thanks in advance
David Usherwood
Site Admin

Re: Connect the ODBC on -premise with the Planning Analytics on Cloud

Post by David Usherwood »

For connecting to on premise databases:
https://www.ibm.com/uk-en/cloud/secure-gateway
If you are using IBM's SaaS PA then you will have the Workspace.
The security is done by issuing your users with IBM IDs and CAM. You can manage the groups and TM1 security is not really any different.
ascheevel
Community Contributor
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PA 2.0.9.1
Excel Version: 365

Post by ascheevel »

If you are moving to PA on IBM's cloud, you will have access to Planning Analytics Workspace (PAW).

PA on cloud can connect to on-premise datasources using secure gateway: Administer IBM Secure Gateway

I believe you get a Cognos light subscription with PA on cloud, so you can use cognos security groups no problem. Within TM1, you'll still administer cube/dim/element/cell security the same way.

Tomok had a great post about their experience migrating to PA cloud that you should check out if you haven't already.