PAx switch model/package name in exploration view

Post Reply
TomaszB
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 9:00 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 9.5.2 10.1.1 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2003 2010

PAx switch model/package name in exploration view

Post by TomaszB »

Hi,

Does someone know if there is a way to switch the "model name"/"package" in PAx in an exploration view by connecting it to a named range?
If I try to do it like in a dynamic/custom report, then the formula in the system information cell gets overwritten by PAx.
I need it to switch between the dev and prod models.

BTW: The way described in the documentation (link below) is not working -> Bug already raised to development.
But even if this would work, it isn't something that can be used in a productive environment where I would like to create multiple views.
It's a NO-GO to edit each view and change it manually...

https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgece ... e_pkg.html

The only usable solution I have found so far was the recreation of the exploration on each sheet by using a script.
Reporting.Explorations.Create "http://10.138.208.118/", "Some_Model", "Cube", "View"

Do you have some better experience with this kind of report?

Best Regards
Tomasz
User avatar
gtonkin
MVP
Posts: 1202
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 3:03 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: Latest and greatest
Excel Version: Office 365 64-bit
Location: JHB, South Africa
Contact:

Re: PAx switch model/package name in exploration view

Post by gtonkin »

Apologies if I am missing something but looks like you can unhide the hidden rows for the exploration and point the value next to System: to a named range which references your Server:Instance e.g. Denil:Denil_Development
TomaszB
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 9:00 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 9.5.2 10.1.1 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2003 2010

Re: PAx switch model/package name in exploration view

Post by TomaszB »

Hi gtonkin,

That's exactly the point. When I edit the system information cell (by default C3), then PAx is resetting my change each time the sheet gets refreshed.
I'm using PAx 2.0.50. Is this working differently for you?

Best Regards
Tomasz
Mithun.Mistry1103
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 1:14 pm
OLAP Product: cognos
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2010

Re: PAx switch model/package name in exploration view

Post by Mithun.Mistry1103 »

Hello

Any answers on this.

I have tried to use name ranges to connect explorations and quick reports through the one string, changing through environments via this one string.

Only problem is it connects to the existing rather than new connection when I refresh book.


Thank you
User avatar
gtonkin
MVP
Posts: 1202
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 3:03 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: Latest and greatest
Excel Version: Office 365 64-bit
Location: JHB, South Africa
Contact:

Re: PAx switch model/package name in exploration view

Post by gtonkin »

One answer is "maybe"...

Open your template and then have a look at the custom properties on the sheet (not workbook)

Try this code:

Code: Select all

Sub ShowCustomProperties()
    Dim oCustom As Variant
    Dim wsSheet As Variant
    
    For Each wsSheet In ActiveWorkbook.Sheets
        For Each oCustom In wsSheet.CustomProperties
            Debug.Print wsSheet.Name & " - " & oCustom.Name & vbCrLf & oCustom.Value & vbCrLf & vbCrLf
        Next
    Next
End Sub
The connection is possibly in the property "COR_PackageSearchPath": { "server" : "My Server", "cube" : "Exchange Rate"}

In terms of linking this property to a named range directly, doubt that will work but you could possibly update the value of the property.

All this is speculation but let us know if you solve with the above.
User avatar
Steve Rowe
Site Admin
Posts: 2417
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 4:25 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: TM1 v6,v7,v8,v9,v10,v11+PAW
Excel Version: Nearly all of them

Re: PAx switch model/package name in exploration view

Post by Steve Rowe »

This is pretty hidden, had to raise a ticket to discover myself. Instructions here
https://www.ibm.com/docs/en/planning-an ... xploration
Technical Director
www.infocat.co.uk
User avatar
gtonkin
MVP
Posts: 1202
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 3:03 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: Latest and greatest
Excel Version: Office 365 64-bit
Location: JHB, South Africa
Contact:

Re: PAx switch model/package name in exploration view

Post by gtonkin »

Steve Rowe wrote: Mon Feb 14, 2022 9:00 am This is pretty hidden, had to raise a ticket to discover myself. Instructions here
https://www.ibm.com/docs/en/planning-an ... xploration
Thanks for that post Steve - far safer than hacking the custom properties!
Post Reply