TI as a batch processing language with Cognos Datamanager.

Post Reply
John Hammond
Community Contributor
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:50 am
OLAP Product: PAW/PAX 2.0.72 Perspectives
Version: TM1 Server 11.8.003
Excel Version: 365 and 2016
Location: South London

TI as a batch processing language with Cognos Datamanager.

Post by John Hammond »

We can kick off the TI processing from DM. We would not perform any cube or measures dimension action and we would use the TM1 Prolog and Epilog Scripts to do the true processing. We cannot use chores because of the need to synchronise the Datamanager creation of the input data for the cubes with the TI load of data into cubes.

The trick of doing this with DM is to install a copy of the TM1 client on the same machine as DM and also to include the TM1 path in the PATH environment variable. Otherwise it mysteriously does not work!

The processing we require cannot be accomplished by a simple load of a cube. Typically a subset of a staging cube is zero’ed out, the load takes place and then the data is moved on to further cubes. Thus effectively we have a jobstream within TM1 which needs to be controlled and if there is an error reported back.

We would need to carry out the following pseudo code in TI

Result = ExecuteProcess(‘loadStaging’)
If Result > 0 then
/* write to sql server table or error log so support know what the problem was and the user can be informed their load did not work*/
WriteErrorLog(‘Load Staging failed with return code ‘ + result + ‘ Abandoning data load ‘)
/* return back to DM */
Exit
Endif

/* next stage is now conditional on the first */
Result = ExecuteProcess(‘loadIntermediate’)

I would assume this is possible but does TI have a Try...Catch type structure that could more easily be used. Can a return code be passed back to the operating system.

Any advice on the best way to operate TM1 in batch would be much appreciated.
User avatar
paulsimon
MVP
Posts: 808
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 11:10 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PA 2.0.5
Excel Version: 2016
Contact:

Re: TI as a batch processing language with Cognos Datamanager.

Post by paulsimon »

John

Yes there is a way to do this. I have built a standard framework for this. However, as this took a lot of development it is proprietary code, so I've dropped you a private message with further details.

Regards

Paul Simon
David Usherwood
Site Admin
Posts: 1458
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 9:09 am

Re: TI as a batch processing language with Cognos Datamanager.

Post by David Usherwood »

Very noble, Paul - but you should post something about your product in the 'Commercial' subforum.
John, the integration with Data Manager sounds rather useful - if only I could find out how to download the product! We're only signed up, certified partners after all.
John Hammond
Community Contributor
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:50 am
OLAP Product: PAW/PAX 2.0.72 Perspectives
Version: TM1 Server 11.8.003
Excel Version: 365 and 2016
Location: South London

Re: TI as a batch processing language with Cognos Datamanager.

Post by John Hammond »

Thanks Paul - I think your solution is going to be a bit advanced for the time being but we are always interested to hear from people like yourself.

David - you can download Datamanager and it is reasonable impressive if you are building your cube from scratch or without complex TI processing.


Here's what we eventually did.

The fact delivery process is set up as a dummy. The purpose is to run jeprocess without doing anything else hence the NoAction options.

Image

Jeprocess is similarly a harness to run various TI processes. We can check return codes and write information back to a file which can later be interrogated by DM.

Image

The problem that occurs is that DM insists on creating the dimensions even if we switch the dimension load off!
Image

The solution is to load dummy dimensions - we cant have them conflict with real ones - and then delete afterwards or in the prolog.

Image




Regards
Last edited by John Hammond on Wed Jul 22, 2009 5:32 pm, edited 3 times in total.
John Hammond
Community Contributor
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:50 am
OLAP Product: PAW/PAX 2.0.72 Perspectives
Version: TM1 Server 11.8.003
Excel Version: 365 and 2016
Location: South London

Re: TI as a batch processing language with Cognos Datamanager.

Post by John Hammond »

I was attempting to upload images as .bmps and then reference them as URL's in the post but it wont let me load .bmp's.

What is the normal route for posting an image on the forum - if its image hosting could somebody recommend a good one.

Got there in the end - what a palavar can't save from Wrod anything other than a .bmp which makes the files massive and then you have to use paint to convert to .png.

The url of the host is in the post and it was very easy to use...
User avatar
paulsimon
MVP
Posts: 808
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 11:10 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PA 2.0.5
Excel Version: 2016
Contact:

Re: TI as a batch processing language with Cognos Datamanager.

Post by paulsimon »

John

To add an image

First add the image file as an attachment to the post. Click the Img button, and with your cursor between the tags, go to the posted attachments and click Place inline.

I tried with a JPG. You will need to try other formats to see if they work too.

Regards


Paul Simon
Attachments
2002-09-26 011.jpg
2002-09-26 011.jpg (61.06 KiB) Viewed 5316 times
David Usherwood
Site Admin
Posts: 1458
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 9:09 am

Re: TI as a batch processing language with Cognos Datamanager.

Post by David Usherwood »

John, your code looks most intriguing - but it remains a real struggle to find out how to download apps from IBM.
Post Reply