Server created via Cognos Insight

Kaspar
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2
Excel Version: 2010

Server created via Cognos Insight

Post by Kaspar »

Hi,
I've just stared working with TM1 10.2 and I've got some questions abou Cognos Insight (I haven't found similar topic on this forum, and I am a bit newbie in this technology)

According to this docment:
http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/data/ ... ge627.html

When user publishes data from .cdd file, a new TM1 Server is created.
My first question is what is the difference between server created via Cognos Insight and regular TM1 Server, created via Cognos Confguration?
Can I publish .cdd data on existing regular TM1 server, not created using Cognos Insight?
The last question: how to completetly remove such server (created via CI)?

Thanks in advance for help
Kaspar
Kaspar
Excel Version: 2010

Re: Server created via Cognos Insight

Post by Kaspar »

Anyone?
Trevor MacPherson
Excel Version: None

Re: Server created via Cognos Insight

Post by Trevor MacPherson »

I only ever use CI to create server instances, so the exact differences are more of a guess that a certainty... no matter what they are, they will be very minor. Clever folks often move servers both ways (i.e. pack an existing instance into a .cdd file, then publish that)
The server data directory, unless otherwise specified in the application server configuration, will be here:
<installlocation>\ibm\cognos\tm1_64\webapps\pmpsvc\WEB-INF\desktopdata\<your application name>

The configuration will slightly different... not an exhaustive list, but these are used:
AllowSeparateNandCRules=T
PersistentFeeders=T
DistributedPlanningOutputDir=.\TUnits #this depends on the app type - not set for Central, although probably could be now that Distributed mode works for Central apps