Hi Nilmadhab : Thanks for your comments on this. I also did some testing at my end, and results are quite similar to what you have mentioned. Thanks for raising this in this forum. this was helpful. Good day!!nilmadhab.laha wrote:@ rksharmatm1 : PlanningDev has already answered your question - still just wanted to put my 2 cents here. I tried data loading to two separate cubes - by two separate TI processes - both cubes are having shared dimensions - still both processes went parallel. So, it works.
Just if I go another step ahead - I have tried calling same TI multiple times to load data to separate slice of the cube e.g. keeping month as parameter in the TI, 1st one to load data just to the month of Jan, same TI to load data for Feb and so on ... it works. All of them can run in parallel.
Execute Multiple TI processes with TM1RUNTI utility
-
- Posts: 20
- Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 2:58 am
- OLAP Product: Cognos TM1
- Version: 10.2.2
- Excel Version: 2010
Re: Execute Multiple TI processes with TM1RUNTI utility
-
- Community Contributor
- Posts: 349
- Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 6:31 am
- OLAP Product: Planning Analytics
- Version: 2.0.5
- Excel Version: 2016
Re: Execute Multiple TI processes with TM1RUNTI utility
One last thing to be careful of. There is currently no easy mechanism to know when all TI's executed in parallel have completed. For example, if you wanted to trigger a Cognos BI Report to run after the cube was loaded, you would need a way to track the status of all the TI's that were running.
Current methodologies include
1. Using a Status Tracking Cube inside of TM1. Generally very hard to get working as parallel interaction causes the data load TI to have a write lock, wich forces other TIs to read the old status data)
2. Using a file based approach, have the TI write out to file and have a polling TI read from that file to determine status
3. Use scheduling software to kick off the TI's in parallel and then monitor when they all complete.
If anyone has any other good tracking mechanisms let me know!
Current methodologies include
1. Using a Status Tracking Cube inside of TM1. Generally very hard to get working as parallel interaction causes the data load TI to have a write lock, wich forces other TIs to read the old status data)
2. Using a file based approach, have the TI write out to file and have a polling TI read from that file to determine status
3. Use scheduling software to kick off the TI's in parallel and then monitor when they all complete.
If anyone has any other good tracking mechanisms let me know!
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 1:27 am
- OLAP Product: transformer
- Version: 6.6
- Excel Version: 2002
Re: Execute Multiple TI processes with TM1RUNTI utility
may I know the exact issue with this? I would appreciate your quick help on this. only one process is executing at one time.
C:\Program Files\ibm\cognos\tm1_64\bin64>tm1runti -i "c:\tm1run\load3cubes.ini"
calling process: LoadPriceAndCostCSV completed with minor errors.
[TM1RUNTI]
Process=LoadPriceAndCostCSV
Process=LoadSalesPlanODBC
Process=LoadSalesPlanODBCf
connect=DEV
[Process-LoadPriceAndCostCSV]
[Process-LoadSalesPlanODBC]
[Process-LoadSalesPlanODBCf]
[connect-DEV]
adminhost =localhost
server= DemoData
user= "Admin"
pwd= "apple"
C:\Program Files\ibm\cognos\tm1_64\bin64>tm1runti -i "c:\tm1run\load3cubes.ini"
calling process: LoadPriceAndCostCSV completed with minor errors.
[TM1RUNTI]
Process=LoadPriceAndCostCSV
Process=LoadSalesPlanODBC
Process=LoadSalesPlanODBCf
connect=DEV
[Process-LoadPriceAndCostCSV]
[Process-LoadSalesPlanODBC]
[Process-LoadSalesPlanODBCf]
[connect-DEV]
adminhost =localhost
server= DemoData
user= "Admin"
pwd= "apple"
-
- MVP
- Posts: 3698
- Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:14 am
- OLAP Product: TableManager1
- Version: PA 2.0.x
- Excel Version: Office 365
- Location: Switzerland
Re: Execute Multiple TI processes with TM1RUNTI utility
Yes you may know the reason. You need to call tm1runti 3x independently passing in the appropriate process names and parameter values accordingly if you want the processes to execute in parallel.arundba wrote:may I know the exact issue with this? I would appreciate your quick help on this. only one process is executing at one time.
Please place all requests for help in a public thread. I will not answer PMs requesting assistance.
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2015 5:01 pm
- OLAP Product: TM1
- Version: 10.2
- Excel Version: 2010
Re: Execute Multiple TI processes with TM1RUNTI utility
PlanningDev wrote:PlanningDev wrote:
Example to execute multiple TI's from a single command line call (Will run in SERIAL execution).
[TM1RunTI]
process=my_ti_process
process=my_ti_process2
connect=Production
[Process - my_ti_process]
num1="value1"
stringX="value2"
stringY="value3"
[Process - my_ti_process2]
num1="value1"
stringX="value2"
stringY="value3"
[Connect – Production]
adminhost=
server=MyTM1server
user="MyTM1AdminServer"
pwdfile="c:\tm1_admin_area\passwords\tm1_password.txt"
AdminSvrSSLCertAuthority=.\ssl\applixca.pem
AdminSvrSSLCertID=tm1adminserver
AdminSvrSSLCertRevList=
CAMNamespace=LOCAL_NTLM
I tried to repeat the same in order to have SERIAL execution but no success. Can anybody tell me what I am doing wrong? My files attached. Thanks!
- Attachments
-
- Bat File.txt
- bat file
- (107 Bytes) Downloaded 466 times
-
- TI.ini
- ini
- (392 Bytes) Downloaded 455 times
-
- MVP
- Posts: 3698
- Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:14 am
- OLAP Product: TableManager1
- Version: PA 2.0.x
- Excel Version: Office 365
- Location: Switzerland
Re: Execute Multiple TI processes with TM1RUNTI utility
If you want serial execution just use separate ExecuteCommand to tm1runti with wait=true. For parallel execution although it might be possible to have processes execute in parallel using the runti ini file, in a practical application with dozens to hundreds of TI processes it makes much more sense to manage only the server connection with the ini file and manage the ti processes and parameters in each command line call. For doing this hustle is by far the easiest way I have found to manage execution of multiple processes, or more commonly multiple runs of the same process with differing parameters.
Please place all requests for help in a public thread. I will not answer PMs requesting assistance.
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2015 5:01 pm
- OLAP Product: TM1
- Version: 10.2
- Excel Version: 2010
Re: Execute Multiple TI processes with TM1RUNTI utility
lotsaram wrote:If you want serial execution just use separate ExecuteCommand to tm1runti with wait=true. For parallel execution although it might be possible to have processes execute in parallel using the runti ini file, in a practical application with dozens to hundreds of TI processes it makes much more sense to manage only the server connection with the ini file and manage the ti processes and parameters in each command line call. For doing this hustle is by far the easiest way I have found to manage execution of multiple processes, or more commonly multiple runs of the same process with differing parameters.
Thanks lotsaram.
When I paste this line directly to cmd:
cd C:\Program Files (x86)\ibm\cognos\tm1\bin
tm1runti.exe -process TEST_RunTI_1 -adminhost localhost -server “planning sample” -user admin -pwd “” pFile = 2test.csv
I have the error “ti parameter pFile not specified, using default value”. I can’t understand why.
But the same time process TEST_RunTI_1 runes using default pFile parameter value.
When I run Hustle from TI, it doesn't trigger process TEST_RunTI_1 at all but the TI itself completed successfully.
It has:
sCommand = 'C:\Users\A\Documents\!TM1_resources\!MTQ\Hustle.exe "RunTIBatch.txt" 2';
ExecuteCommand(sCommand, 1);
Where my RunTIBatch.txt has:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\ibm\cognos\tm1\bin\tm1runti.exe" -process TEST_RunTI_1 -adminhost localhost -server "planning sample" -user admin -pwd "" pFile = 2test.csv
Where is my error?
Thanks
-
- MVP
- Posts: 3698
- Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:14 am
- OLAP Product: TableManager1
- Version: PA 2.0.x
- Excel Version: Office 365
- Location: Switzerland
Re: Execute Multiple TI processes with TM1RUNTI utility
No space with equal sign.member wrote: Where my RunTIBatch.txt has:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\ibm\cognos\tm1\bin\tm1runti.exe" -process TEST_RunTI_1 -adminhost localhost -server "planning sample" -user admin -pwd "" pFile = 2test.csv
Where is my error?
Thanks
Numeric parameters have no quotes.
String parameters enclosed in quotes. (for safety anything that's a string simpler to enclose in quotes even if it doesn't contain a space, better for automating the script generation. not good for your script to break when a variable unexpectedly contains a space.)
"C:\Program Files (x86)\ibm\cognos\tm1\bin\tm1runti.exe" -process "TEST_RunTI_1" -adminhost "localhost" -server "planning sample" -user "admin" -pwd "" pFile="2test.csv"
Please place all requests for help in a public thread. I will not answer PMs requesting assistance.