I'm having trouble running a simple Teradata query in TI. This query works in WinSQL on the TM1 Server.
SELECT *
FROM SDWP.ACCT_DAY A
WHERE A.ACCT_MONTH = '200901'
However, it returns an "unable to open connection to database" error in TI.
In my processes that download from other ODBC sources, the table name is preceeded with the datasource name, i.e. "FROM PSFSPRD.LEDGER A", where PSFSPRD is the datasource name and LEDGER is the table name. While this is not required in WinSQL, it is in TI.
Using that same logic here, "FROM SHAWPROD.SDWP.ACCT_DAY", where SHAWPROD is the datasource, SDWP is the database and ACCT_DAY is the table, does not work.
I appreciate any and all suggestions. Thanks.
Connecting TI to Teradata
-
- Posts: 68
- Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 2:26 am
- OLAP Product: TM1, Cognos Express
- Version: 9.5 9.4 9.1 9.0 8.4
- Excel Version: 2007 2003
Re: Connecting TI to Teradata
"Unable to open connection to database". Suggests your ODBC connection isn't right (query isn't the issue here).
Are you testing your TI using TM1 directly on the server (ie using terminal services or citrix)?
Are you testing your TI using TM1 directly on the server (ie using terminal services or citrix)?
- jim wood
- Site Admin
- Posts: 3958
- Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 1:51 pm
- OLAP Product: TM1
- Version: PA 2.0.7
- Excel Version: Office 365
- Location: 37 East 18th Street New York
- Contact:
Re: Connecting TI to Teradata
Have you setup the ODBC connection as a user connection or system connection?
Struggling through the quagmire of life to reach the other side of who knows where.
Shop at Amazon
Jimbo PC Builds on YouTube
OS: Mac OS 11 PA Version: 2.0.7
Shop at Amazon
Jimbo PC Builds on YouTube
OS: Mac OS 11 PA Version: 2.0.7
-
- Posts: 16
- Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 7:55 pm
- OLAP Product: TM1 + WebWorq
- Version: 10.2.2 FP4
- Excel Version: 2010+2013 [32+64bit]
- Location: Dalton, Georgia, USA
Re: Connecting TI to Teradata
The connection is a system connection.
I am connecting to the TM1 Server using Terminal Services Client. WinSQL is loaded directly on the server and the query works fine. I don't think it's a problem with the connection.
Thank you.
I am connecting to the TM1 Server using Terminal Services Client. WinSQL is loaded directly on the server and the query works fine. I don't think it's a problem with the connection.
Thank you.
-
- Posts: 68
- Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 2:26 am
- OLAP Product: TM1, Cognos Express
- Version: 9.5 9.4 9.1 9.0 8.4
- Excel Version: 2007 2003
Re: Connecting TI to Teradata
Can only be 2 things:
1) ODBC Connection setup not correct
2) Incorrect Username/Password supplied to the ODBC connection from TM1
Under both these circumstances TI will return a "unable to open connection to database" error message
If a SQL query in the Datasource tab of a TI has incorrect syntax or attempts to reference non-existant objects TM1 returns a "SQL Statement Failed" error mesasge.
1) ODBC Connection setup not correct
2) Incorrect Username/Password supplied to the ODBC connection from TM1
Under both these circumstances TI will return a "unable to open connection to database" error message
If a SQL query in the Datasource tab of a TI has incorrect syntax or attempts to reference non-existant objects TM1 returns a "SQL Statement Failed" error mesasge.
- Steve Rowe
- Site Admin
- Posts: 2455
- Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 4:25 pm
- OLAP Product: TM1
- Version: TM1 v6,v7,v8,v9,v10,v11+PAW
- Excel Version: Nearly all of them
Re: Connecting TI to Teradata
I may be misremembering but doesn't the user that the TM1 server/service runs under need to have the rights to open ODBC connections? This is normally a default but if your IT department is particularly paranoid then you'll need to check this too.
Cheers
edit so the post makes sense!
Cheers
edit so the post makes sense!
Technical Director
www.infocat.co.uk
www.infocat.co.uk
- jim wood
- Site Admin
- Posts: 3958
- Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 1:51 pm
- OLAP Product: TM1
- Version: PA 2.0.7
- Excel Version: Office 365
- Location: 37 East 18th Street New York
- Contact:
Re: Connecting TI to Teradata
Does WinSQL prompt you for a password when you connect? I connect to Teradata using Queryman and this requires a password everytime. It doesn't store the password in the Teradata ODBC settings. I've not tried connecting TM1 to Teradata myself (yet) so I can't supply you with a work around. This may be one for IBM/Cognos/Applix support,
Jim.
Jim.
Struggling through the quagmire of life to reach the other side of who knows where.
Shop at Amazon
Jimbo PC Builds on YouTube
OS: Mac OS 11 PA Version: 2.0.7
Shop at Amazon
Jimbo PC Builds on YouTube
OS: Mac OS 11 PA Version: 2.0.7
-
- Posts: 16
- Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 7:55 pm
- OLAP Product: TM1 + WebWorq
- Version: 10.2.2 FP4
- Excel Version: 2010+2013 [32+64bit]
- Location: Dalton, Georgia, USA
Re: Connecting TI to Teradata
When I launch WinSQL, it asks which datasource I want to use and for a userid and password. This is the same id and password I enter into TI.
-
- Posts: 68
- Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 2:26 am
- OLAP Product: TM1, Cognos Express
- Version: 9.5 9.4 9.1 9.0 8.4
- Excel Version: 2007 2003
Re: Connecting TI to Teradata
Yes - the service should be run under credentials that have access to the ODBC source (can potentially be problematic if the services is run under a local admin).Steve Rowe wrote:I may be misremembering but doesn't the user that the TM1 server/service runs under need to have the rights to open ODBC connections? This is normally a default but if your IT department is particularly paranoid then you'll need to check this too.
Cheers
edit so the post makes sense!