The same subnm linked on multiple sheets
-
- Community Contributor
- Posts: 349
- Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 6:31 am
- OLAP Product: Planning Analytics
- Version: 2.0.5
- Excel Version: 2016
The same subnm linked on multiple sheets
Im sure someone has answered this but I couldn't find a thread so...
Is there a way to have subnm's linked between sheets? IE I make a change the subnm on sheet 2 and then move to sheet 1 and the subnm on sheet 1 shows the change? The goal being to allow for different selections on any page to persist across sheets.
Is there a way to have subnm's linked between sheets? IE I make a change the subnm on sheet 2 and then move to sheet 1 and the subnm on sheet 1 shows the change? The goal being to allow for different selections on any page to persist across sheets.
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 6643
- Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 2:30 am
- OLAP Product: TM1
- Version: PA2.0.9.18 Classic NO PAW!
- Excel Version: 2013 and Office 365
- Location: Sydney, Australia
- Contact:
Re: The same subnm linked on multiple sheets
Are we talking standard Excel, or Web?PlanningDev wrote:Im sure someone has answered this but I couldn't find a thread so...
Is there a way to have subnm's linked between sheets? IE I make a change the subnm on sheet 2 and then move to sheet 1 and the subnm on sheet 1 shows the change? The goal being to allow for different selections on any page to persist across sheets.
If it's standard Excel I wouldn't do it that way. Instead of having SubNMs on multiple sheets I'd have it on a Control sheet with cell references on the other sheets pointing to that. Over each such cell you can put a transparent shape which links to a macro which does the following:
Code: Select all
Range("NameOfYourControlSheetCell").Select
Application.Run "TWEVENTER1" 'Which will trigger the SubNM selection
Unless I actually need different selections on different sheets, I find it safer to keep to a single entry for title elements so that nothing "drifts off".
Incidentally, I don't blame you for not finding TWEVENTER1 in the documentation because as far as I know... it isn't. Much as that will doubtless come as a shock to you.
If it's a websheet... well, that's a different story again.
"To them, equipment failure is terrifying. To me, it’s 'Tuesday.' "
-----------
Before posting, please check the documentation, the FAQ, the Search function and FOR THE LOVE OF GLUB the Request Guidelines.
-----------
Before posting, please check the documentation, the FAQ, the Search function and FOR THE LOVE OF GLUB the Request Guidelines.
-
- Community Contributor
- Posts: 349
- Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 6:31 am
- OLAP Product: Planning Analytics
- Version: 2.0.5
- Excel Version: 2016
Re: The same subnm linked on multiple sheets
That's a good solution for Excel!
, unfortunately I would like this on the web 
My thought at this point is to create some kind of picklist cube that contains the client dimension and then to have the selection stored there. I realize the picklist idea drops some functionality with the subset editor but I haven' t found a way to do with SUBNM.


My thought at this point is to create some kind of picklist cube that contains the client dimension and then to have the selection stored there. I realize the picklist idea drops some functionality with the subset editor but I haven' t found a way to do with SUBNM.
-
- MVP
- Posts: 733
- Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 11:06 pm
Re: The same subnm linked on multiple sheets
That's a very good option - although you need to give some careful thought about how you organise the measures dimension. Another benefit of this method is that you can control report settings server-side.PlanningDev wrote:My thought at this point is to create some kind of picklist cube that contains the client dimension and then to have the selection stored there.
Slightly clunky - but it is possible to have a stand-alone SUBNM (i.e. with nice UI as opposed to picklist) and then have the result of the user selection DBS'd back into the selection cube (potentially to an intersection without a picklist definition). Then, you could re-use that selection on other sheets.PlanningDev wrote: I realize the picklist idea drops some functionality with the subset editor but I haven' t found a way to do with SUBNM.
Robin Mackenzie
-
- Community Contributor
- Posts: 349
- Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 6:31 am
- OLAP Product: Planning Analytics
- Version: 2.0.5
- Excel Version: 2016
Re: The same subnm linked on multiple sheets
Would this allow the submnms to be linked on each page? The issues getting the subnm to show the latest selection which I don't think is possible.rmackenzie wrote:
Slightly clunky - but it is possible to have a stand-alone SUBNM (i.e. with nice UI as opposed to picklist) and then have the result of the user selection DBS'd back into the selection cube (potentially to an intersection without a picklist definition). Then, you could re-use that selection on other sheets.
-
- MVP
- Posts: 733
- Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 11:06 pm
Re: The same subnm linked on multiple sheets
Is that pretty much the same as the E_PICK macro? Actually, it isn't working for me on 10.2... But E_PICK is still OK, e.g.:Alan Kirk wrote:PlanningDev wrote:If it's standard Excel I wouldn't do it that way. Instead of having SubNMs on multiple sheets I'd have it on a Control sheet with cell references on the other sheets pointing to that. Over each such cell you can put a transparent shape which links to a macro which does the following:
Code: Select all
Range("NameOfYourControlSheetCell").Select Application.Run "TWEVENTER1" 'Which will trigger the SubNM selection
Code: Select all
Sub GetElement()
Dim strSelectedElement As String
strSelectedElement = Application.Run("E_PICK", "server:dimension", "", "", "")
Worksheets("Sheet1").Range("A1").Value = strSelectedElement
End Sub
Robin Mackenzie
-
- MVP
- Posts: 733
- Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 11:06 pm
Re: The same subnm linked on multiple sheets
Yes, I believe so, if you are only using the SUBNM to act as a selector that writes back to the client-selection cube. You then link the SUBNMs for the cube-views directly from this client-selection cube - these SUBNMs don't have to be visible to the user. In fact, the DBRW references for the view slicers (titles) don't have to be SUBNMs at all.PlanningDev wrote:Would this allow the submnms to be linked on each page? The issues getting the subnm to show the latest selection which I don't think is possible.
Robin Mackenzie
-
- Community Contributor
- Posts: 349
- Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 6:31 am
- OLAP Product: Planning Analytics
- Version: 2.0.5
- Excel Version: 2016
Re: The same subnm linked on multiple sheets
While I believe that will work, I believe that each subnm on each page won't be able to always show the latest selection? Am I following what you are thinking? The subnm just writesback to a cube? Wouldn't you have multiple sheets that would writeback to the same data?
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 6643
- Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 2:30 am
- OLAP Product: TM1
- Version: PA2.0.9.18 Classic NO PAW!
- Excel Version: 2013 and Office 365
- Location: Sydney, Australia
- Contact:
Re: The same subnm linked on multiple sheets
It's a different route to the same destination in a sense. E_Pick requires that you return the selected value to a variable in the code, and that you populate the relevant cell(s) yourself. All you'd have in the workbook is one or more hard coded values. TWEVENTER1 leaves the actual SubNm in one place so that the actual SubNm can still be selected normally, but any other cell just bounces you off to the cell containing the formula and launches it as if you'd selected the original yourself. The other advantage of TWEVENTER1 is that it wasn't affected by that sodding Allow Editing Directly In Cells issue that screws up SubNms.rmackenzie wrote:Is that pretty much the same as the E_PICK macro? Actually, it isn't working for me on 10.2... But E_PICK is still OK, e.g.:Alan Kirk wrote:PlanningDev wrote:If it's standard Excel I wouldn't do it that way. Instead of having SubNMs on multiple sheets I'd have it on a Control sheet with cell references on the other sheets pointing to that. Over each such cell you can put a transparent shape which links to a macro which does the following:
Code: Select all
Range("NameOfYourControlSheetCell").Select Application.Run "TWEVENTER1" 'Which will trigger the SubNM selection
However you're correct; it seems to have been removed in one of the Version 10's. It still works in 9.5.2 / Excel 2010, but not in 10.2 Excel 2010.
"To them, equipment failure is terrifying. To me, it’s 'Tuesday.' "
-----------
Before posting, please check the documentation, the FAQ, the Search function and FOR THE LOVE OF GLUB the Request Guidelines.
-----------
Before posting, please check the documentation, the FAQ, the Search function and FOR THE LOVE OF GLUB the Request Guidelines.
-
- MVP
- Posts: 733
- Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 11:06 pm
Re: The same subnm linked on multiple sheets
It's hard to say just theorising! What I am suggesting is that if each SUBNM is:PlanningDev wrote:While I believe that will work, I believe that each subnm on each page won't be able to always show the latest selection? Am I following what you are thinking? The subnm just writesback to a cube? Wouldn't you have multiple sheets that would writeback to the same data?
Code: Select all
=SUBNM("server:dimension","",DBR("server:settings_cube",TM1USER(server),"measure_for_dimension"))
Robin Mackenzie
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 2:55 am
- OLAP Product: TM1
- Version: 9.5.2
- Excel Version: 10
Re: The same subnm linked on multiple sheets
Hello,
I am curious to know if anyone has had any issues using "TWEVENTER1" with TM1 10.2.2 FP3 and Excel 2010 (Version 14.0.4760.1000 32-bit). I am currently testing our "single-click" SUBNM macro and everything appears to be working correctly in our environments.
Is there any information on if IBM will continue to support this function or would you recommend excluding it from future developement?
Regards,
Hari
I am curious to know if anyone has had any issues using "TWEVENTER1" with TM1 10.2.2 FP3 and Excel 2010 (Version 14.0.4760.1000 32-bit). I am currently testing our "single-click" SUBNM macro and everything appears to be working correctly in our environments.
Is there any information on if IBM will continue to support this function or would you recommend excluding it from future developement?
Regards,
Hari