Hi guys,
I have created excel input templates referencing a vuslice to bring me the data.
It appears though that I can only use the code once.
The first time, my view is returned, but on any attempts thereafter I get a "FALSE" in the selected columns.
Does anyone have a solution to this.
Thanks
VUSLICE
- Steve Rowe
- Site Admin
- Posts: 2455
- Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 4:25 pm
- OLAP Product: TM1
- Version: TM1 v6,v7,v8,v9,v10,v11+PAW
- Excel Version: Nearly all of them
Re: VUSLICE
I'm not sure why this should be...
Try adding Run("M_Clear") and or Run("T_Clear") to your code between calls. These clear all the internal variables of the client and might help you.
I'm assuming that you are sure that the view is still valid and that subsets have not been manipulated further so that the view is not returning any values?
How recent a version of TM1 are you running? I have a very vague recollection of a bug in this area.
HTH
Steve
Try adding Run("M_Clear") and or Run("T_Clear") to your code between calls. These clear all the internal variables of the client and might help you.
I'm assuming that you are sure that the view is still valid and that subsets have not been manipulated further so that the view is not returning any values?
How recent a version of TM1 are you running? I have a very vague recollection of a bug in this area.
HTH
Steve
Technical Director
www.infocat.co.uk
www.infocat.co.uk
-
- Posts: 8
- Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 6:56 am
- OLAP Product: Tm1
- Version: 9.4.1
- Excel Version: 2003 2007
- Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
- Contact:
Re: VUSLICE
I'll give it a try thanks.
The views deifnately still exist and I'm running 9.1 SP3.
The views deifnately still exist and I'm running 9.1 SP3.
-
- Posts: 8
- Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 6:56 am
- OLAP Product: Tm1
- Version: 9.4.1
- Excel Version: 2003 2007
- Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
- Contact:
Re: VUSLICE
Still no luck I'm afraid, anyone have any other ideas?
Can you actually use a vuslice command more than once in a workbook, or maybe its one of those macros that can only run once.
Can you actually use a vuslice command more than once in a workbook, or maybe its one of those macros that can only run once.
- paulsimon
- MVP
- Posts: 808
- Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 11:10 pm
- OLAP Product: TM1
- Version: PA 2.0.5
- Excel Version: 2016
- Contact:
Re: VUSLICE
Joffes
I'm running the same version as you, and I can run the following as many times as I want
Sub TestVUSlice()
Dim sResult As String
sResult = Application.Run("VUSLICE", "planning sample:PNLCube", "Default")
Debug.Print sResult
End Sub
I have used it to put Views on different sheets in the same workbook.
I was looking at it today to get over the problem of zero suppression with nested rows and various nasty format requirements. It is unfortunate that dynamic slices don't work, and we aren't going to upgrade to 9.4 anytime soon.
I was hoping that this would work with private views but it only seems to work with public views.
I was also hoping that it would put the view in to the active cell but it always seems to use Cell A1.
At present I am going back to the In-Spreadsheet Browser combined with DBRWs or the API or MDX. Does anyone else have some views on the best way to get dynamic slices in Excel, ie slices that allow for zero suppression and user's access rights?
Regards
Paul Simon
I'm running the same version as you, and I can run the following as many times as I want
Sub TestVUSlice()
Dim sResult As String
sResult = Application.Run("VUSLICE", "planning sample:PNLCube", "Default")
Debug.Print sResult
End Sub
I have used it to put Views on different sheets in the same workbook.
I was looking at it today to get over the problem of zero suppression with nested rows and various nasty format requirements. It is unfortunate that dynamic slices don't work, and we aren't going to upgrade to 9.4 anytime soon.
I was hoping that this would work with private views but it only seems to work with public views.
I was also hoping that it would put the view in to the active cell but it always seems to use Cell A1.
At present I am going back to the In-Spreadsheet Browser combined with DBRWs or the API or MDX. Does anyone else have some views on the best way to get dynamic slices in Excel, ie slices that allow for zero suppression and user's access rights?
Regards
Paul Simon