Dynamic Slices vs. Active Forms vs. Spreadsheet Browser

Toto
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 9.5 Build 9.5.00100.2380
Excel Version: 2003

Dynamic Slices vs. Active Forms vs. Spreadsheet Browser

Post by Toto »

Hello,

I am relatively new to TM1 and a little bit confused about the terms mentioned above.
My understanding is that Active Forms are the "never version" of dynamic slices, am I correct? So, I should always take active forms when I develop something new, or are there situations where a dynamic slice would be preferable?
Also, I can see all data with the spreadsheet browser. Should I use the spreadsheet browser for builduing spreadsheets as well or what is the main purpose (and also limitations) of it?

Thanks a lot!!

Regards,

Toto
hittony
Version: 10.2.2 FP6
Excel Version: 2010

Re: Dynamic Slices vs. Active Forms vs. Spreadsheet Browser

Post by hittony »

Hi,

Interesting topic, here's two helpful pages:
Still looking forward to more inputs here, especially on In-Spreadsheet Browser, which is not much explained through the links above.

Thanks
declanr
MVP
OLAP Product: Cognos TM1
Version: PA2.0 and most of the old ones
Excel Version: All of em

Post by declanr »

Active forms are just the same as slices but the rows can expand; so it can be based on your "all accounts" subset for example and if the subset gets an extra element then so does the active form but the slice would require you to manually add it in.

A slice is normally a bit more efficient as it does less work... so if the area of your data isnt going to change then you'd still use a slice (IMO.)

ISB officially became unsupported years ago but it was essentially a fully functioning cube viewer in excel - i dont know many people who use it (anyone actually.)
Declan Rodger
RJ!
Community Contributor
Version: 10.2.2

Post by RJ! »

Hopefully you also have access to CAFE (Cognos Analysis for Excel) as well to experiment with as that will be what is replacing the above at some stage...
hittony