Aggregation problem when linking cubes

ahmedamr
OLAP Product: Planning Analytics/TM1
Version: 2.0.x
Excel Version: 2016

Aggregation problem when linking cubes

Post by ahmedamr »

Hello everyone,

I am still new to TM1 so there are some concepts I haven't quite grasped.

I am trying to link two cubes together. The first cube has a measure element which I am trying to move to the second cube. Both cubes have the exact same dimensions except for one more dimension in the target cube. When I click the check box to slice on all members, the data link works and I can see the measure element data in the target cube, but it is multiplied by the number of elements in the dimension I sliced on in the target cube (I know it's not actual multiplication but rather a consolidation of all elements in the dimension). So my question is, am I doing the link in a wrong way, or am I trying to use it for something which it is not intended for and I will be better of moving data in a different way. I apologize for not including screenshots but I currently do not have access to the server.
lotsaram
MVP
OLAP Product: TableManager1
Version: PA 2.0.x
Excel Version: Office 365

Re: Aggregation problem when linking cubes

Post by lotsaram »

Pictures might help. I can't figure out what you are trying to do.
Please place all requests for help in a public thread. I will not answer PMs requesting assistance.
Adam
OLAP Product: IBM PA
Version: 2.0.9.x
Excel Version: Microsoft 365 x64

Post by Adam »

Hi Ahmed,

It sounds to me like you're using Performance Modeler.

I'm going to surmise your moving from let's say year dimensionality in the source cube to year + month dimensionality in the target cube, am I close?

In the target cube, if you have one additional dimension (e.g. month), which element (e.g. which month) did you want the source cube data to go to, if not each and every element (e.g. each and every month)?

You need to tell TM1 where to put it, otherwise it won't go where you expect.