Writing a Single Dynamic TI process to load data from multiple files

mayankthu3@gmail.com
OLAP Product: IBM Cognos TM1
Version: 10.2
Excel Version: Excel 2016

Writing a Single Dynamic TI process to load data from multiple files

Post by mayankthu3@gmail.com »

Hello TM1 Gurus,

I am a newbie in to world of TI & simple google search couldn't answer my query hence seeking your suggestions.

Suppose I have files for each month named "YYYYMM_ABCD" having exactly same columns(eg. AA, BB, CC, DD).
I need to write a single dynamic TI process which can read these files, runs for file of each month to load data.

If I am unclear in my queries, that could be because of lack of Knowledge in TI scripting.

Please suggest ways to achieve this.
Alan Kirk
Site Admin
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PA2.0.9.18 Classic NO PAW!
Excel Version: 2013 and Office 365

Re: Writing a Single Dynamic TI process to load data from multiple files

Post by Alan Kirk »

mayankthu3@gmail.com wrote: Fri Feb 14, 2020 9:50 am Hello TM1 Gurus,

I am a newbie in to world of TI & simple google search couldn't answer my query hence seeking your suggestions.

Suppose I have files for each month named "YYYYMM_ABCD" having exactly same columns(eg. AA, BB, CC, DD).
I need to write a single dynamic TI process which can read these files, runs for file of each month to load data.

If I am unclear in my queries, that could be because of lack of Knowledge in TI scripting.

Since you say that the files have "exactly the same columns" I assume that the only part that needs to be dynamic is the filename(s).

In which case:
(a) In the PROLOG tab, work out the date for the current upload using rules date and time functions. (This link is to 10.2.2, but for the most part the ones you need like Now() are still applicable.)
(b) Assign the name of that month's file to the DatasourceNameForServer variable.

The process will then upload the current month's file.
"To them, equipment failure is terrifying. To me, it’s 'Tuesday.' "