Active Forms with Filters

Post Reply
Paul-TM1
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2017 3:20 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2010

Active Forms with Filters

Post by Paul-TM1 »

Hi All,
I am looking for an idea on how to filter in an Active form.
As shown in the picture, I want to allow users to pick the highest level of the project from a drop down and only the leaf level elements of the chosen project must be available.
ActiveForm.PNG
ActiveForm.PNG (39.62 KiB) Viewed 3980 times
Can someone please help me?

Thanks,
Paul.
Wim Gielis
MVP
Posts: 3113
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 6:26 pm
OLAP Product: TM1, Jedox
Version: PAL 2.0.9.18
Excel Version: Microsoft 365
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Active Forms with Filters

Post by Wim Gielis »

Use an MDX statement to return these children, based on the value of a cell (like a SUBNM).
You can fully customize this. In the MDX argument of the TM1RPTROW function, refer to the (hidden) cell that contains the MDX expression.
That MDX would be a string where a cell reference to the project choice is made and hence, used in the expression.
Best regards,

Wim Gielis

IBM Champion 2024
Excel Most Valuable Professional, 2011-2014
https://www.wimgielis.com ==> 121 TM1 articles and a lot of custom code
Newest blog article: Deleting elements quickly
tomok
MVP
Posts: 2831
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 2:39 pm
OLAP Product: TM1, Palo
Version: Beginning of time thru 10.2
Excel Version: 2003-2007-2010-2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Re: Active Forms with Filters

Post by tomok »

This MDX statement:

Code: Select all

{TM1FILTERBYLEVEL( {TM1DRILLDOWNMEMBER( {[YourDimension].["&A1&"]}, ALL, RECURSIVE )},0)}
placed in your TM1RPTROW formula will filter to all the leaf elements of the parent contained in cell A1. In A1 you could put a SUBNM formula or a data validation Excel drop down formula.
Tom O'Kelley - Manager Finance Systems
American Tower
http://www.onlinecourtreservations.com/
Wim Gielis
MVP
Posts: 3113
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 6:26 pm
OLAP Product: TM1, Jedox
Version: PAL 2.0.9.18
Excel Version: Microsoft 365
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Active Forms with Filters

Post by Wim Gielis »

As there is TM1DRILLDOWNMEMBER, DRILLDOWNLEVEL, ... and also to for the arguments ALL and RECURSIVE,
I tend to use Descendants:

Code: Select all

="TM1FILTERBYLEVEL( DESCENDANTS( {[YourDimension].[" & A1 & "]}), 0)"
Best regards,

Wim Gielis

IBM Champion 2024
Excel Most Valuable Professional, 2011-2014
https://www.wimgielis.com ==> 121 TM1 articles and a lot of custom code
Newest blog article: Deleting elements quickly
Paul-TM1
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2017 3:20 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2010

Re: Active Forms with Filters

Post by Paul-TM1 »

Thanks Wim and Tomok.
I need some more help.

This is the code I see and where should I add?

Code: Select all

=TM1RPTROW($B$9,"ABC:Projects","",'{AR}01'!$B$16:$B$17,"Number And Name",0)
I tried to add it towards the end, but it's erroring out. From the syntax, I placed it in the MDXStatement and in SubsetElements and failed in both attempts.

Code below is what I replaced with.
"E13" is the drop down list that has the Projects.

Code: Select all

{TM1FILTERBYLEVEL( {TM1DRILLDOWNMEMBER( {[YourDimension].["&E13&"]}, ALL, RECURSIVE )},0)}
Syntax:

Code: Select all

TM1RptRow(ReportView, Dimension, Subset, SubsetElements, Alias, ExpandAbove,MDXStatement, Indentations, ConsolidationDrilling)
Thanks,
Paul.
tomok
MVP
Posts: 2831
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 2:39 pm
OLAP Product: TM1, Palo
Version: Beginning of time thru 10.2
Excel Version: 2003-2007-2010-2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Re: Active Forms with Filters

Post by tomok »

For the TM1RPTROW formula you provide either a subset OR an MDX statement parameter. This is an MDX parameter. Use the function editor in Excel to help you get the syntax correct.
Tom O'Kelley - Manager Finance Systems
American Tower
http://www.onlinecourtreservations.com/
Post Reply