PA: Multiple web instance

Post Reply
User avatar
orlando
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 8:27 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0
Excel Version: Office 365

PA: Multiple web instance

Post by orlando » Tue May 22, 2018 12:49 pm

Hello,

with TM1 10.2 it was very easy to create a second TM web instance (copy the war rename it, tomcat extract the war, make settings, restart tomcat- done).

With Planning Analytics and webphere this doesn't work.
Even Copy the TM1Web Folder in WebApps,rename and restart does not work.

Does anaybody has an idea/link/approach how to set up a second or third web instance with planning analytics?

Regards
orlando

lotsaram
MVP
Posts: 3200
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:14 am
OLAP Product: TableManager1
Version: PA 2.0.x
Excel Version: Office 365
Location: Switzerland

Re: PA: Multiple web instance

Post by lotsaram » Tue May 22, 2018 3:56 pm

Good question. Especially when it comes to load balancing or failover of larger applications. No doubt it is "easy" if you happen to be a websphere expert. But then most of us aren't!
Please place all requests for help in a public thread. I will not answer PMs requesting assistance.

daniel.havassy
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 9:26 am
OLAP Product: Planning Analytics Local
Version: 2.0.4
Excel Version: 2016

Re: PA: Multiple web instance

Post by daniel.havassy » Wed May 23, 2018 11:28 am

Hi,

the following has worked for me:

There is a Websphere related config file that you need to locate and amend with the designated parameters.

TM1_installation_location\tm1_64\wlp\usr\servers\tm1\server.xml

Within the xml file, edit the application node (duplicate it for each tm1web instance and change the property values). For example if you've had a separate tm1web instance for a regional application it could look like this:

<application id="apac" location="${wlp.user.dir}/../../webapps/apac" name="apac" type="war" context-root="apac"/>

Let me know if it helps.

User avatar
orlando
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 8:27 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0
Excel Version: Office 365

Re: PA: Multiple web instance

Post by orlando » Wed May 23, 2018 12:18 pm

daniel.havassy wrote:
Wed May 23, 2018 11:28 am
Hi,

the following has worked for me:

There is a Websphere related config file that you need to locate and amend with the designated parameters.

TM1_installation_location\tm1_64\wlp\usr\servers\tm1\server.xml

Within the xml file, edit the application node (duplicate it for each tm1web instance and change the property values). For example if you've had a separate tm1web instance for a regional application it could look like this:

<application id="apac" location="${wlp.user.dir}/../../webapps/apac" name="apac" type="war" context-root="apac"/>

Let me know if it helps.
hi daniel,

thanks a lot. I will try it on friday (hopefully as a good start into the weekend) and let you know how it worked.

best regards
orlando

User avatar
orlando
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 8:27 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0
Excel Version: Office 365

Re: PA: Multiple web instance

Post by orlando » Thu May 31, 2018 7:14 am

daniel.havassy wrote:
Wed May 23, 2018 11:28 am
Hi,

the following has worked for me:

There is a Websphere related config file that you need to locate and amend with the designated parameters.

TM1_installation_location\tm1_64\wlp\usr\servers\tm1\server.xml

Within the xml file, edit the application node (duplicate it for each tm1web instance and change the property values). For example if you've had a separate tm1web instance for a regional application it could look like this:

<application id="apac" location="${wlp.user.dir}/../../webapps/apac" name="apac" type="war" context-root="apac"/>

Let me know if it helps.
Hi Daniel,

this is working perfect. Thanks a lot!

Best regards,
orlando

User avatar
macsir
Community Contributor
Posts: 577
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1, SSAS
Version: 9.5 - 10.2
Excel Version: 97 - 2013
Contact:

Re: PA: Multiple web instance

Post by macsir » Fri Jun 01, 2018 4:10 am

Just out of curiosity, what is the general use to have multiple web instance?
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/

User avatar
orlando
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 8:27 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0
Excel Version: Office 365

Re: PA: Multiple web instance

Post by orlando » Fri Jun 01, 2018 9:31 am

macsir wrote:
Fri Jun 01, 2018 4:10 am
Just out of curiosity, what is the general use to have multiple web instance?
i like to have one instance just for me for testing, playing etc...
it's more easy for the user to get one or two links without a drop down list to choose the tm1 database from (because they can't remeber the name)

JamiseBondi
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 10:37 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 2.0
Excel Version: Office 365

Re: PA: Multiple web instance

Post by JamiseBondi » Wed Jan 30, 2019 8:51 am

orlando wrote:
Tue May 22, 2018 12:49 pm
Hello,

with TM1 10.2 it was very easy to create a second TM web instance (copy the war rename it, tomcat extract the war, make settings, restart tomcat- done).

With Planning Analytics and webphere this doesn't work.
Even Copy the TM1Web Folder in WebApps,rename and restart does not work.

Does anaybody has an idea/link/approach how to set up a second or third web instance with planning analytics?

Regards
orlando
Hi Orlando,

This is a great idea and I'd really like to know more about the actual changes you made when you say "tomcat extract the war, make settings....". Could you please elaborate/explain what steps you took to get this working? We have multiple instances running through a single web process (tm1web) and I'd like to split it out so that we have a separate web process for each instance.

What I did as a minimum is to copy the "tm1web" folder (located under ...IBM\cognos\tm1_64\webapps) and renamed it to "tm1webtest1". Then edited the tm1web_config.xml file within the configuration folder as well as the common server.xml file per Daniel's suggestion and I can now browse a particular instance "test1" using a unique URL: http://appserver.domain.com:9510/tm1webtest1/

This much works, but even if I did this for instances from test 1 to test5 and navigated to all 5 instances using different URL's, when I look at the task manager on the web server, I still see a single java.exe process that I assume is responsible for serving all the web requests. I'd like to have a separate java process for each web process.... why? Because when a workbook crashes the web in one instance, it doesn't affect the other web sessions/instances/users.

User avatar
orlando
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 8:27 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0
Excel Version: Office 365

Re: PA: Multiple web instance

Post by orlando » Thu Jan 31, 2019 8:55 am

JamiseBondi wrote:
Wed Jan 30, 2019 8:51 am

This much works, but even if I did this for instances from test 1 to test5 and navigated to all 5 instances using different URL's, when I look at the task manager on the web server, I still see a single java.exe process that I assume is responsible for serving all the web requests. I'd like to have a separate java process for each web process.... why? Because when a workbook crashes the web in one instance, it doesn't affect the other web sessions/instances/users.
Hi JB,

in that case you need a second (third, fourth,fifth...) installation of websphere (or tomcat - when older TM1). One installation alway runs with one process (so my understanding).
I have never done that, but i think with a little research it is possible.

Best regards,

orlando

Post Reply