Community Contributor
OLAP Product: Cognos TM1
Version: Planning Analytics Local 2.0.x
Excel Version: 2013 2016

Hanging after Save Server

Post by mce »

Hi,

I am new in TM1.
I wanted to save data for the TM1 server instance.
I selected the server name in Architect and then Server->Save Data.
Half an hour passed, it is still hanging as if it is doing something, although there is no CPU usage in task manager.
What can I do?

Regards,

mce
rkaif
Community Contributor
OLAP Product: IBM Cognos TM1
Version: 9.1 or later
Excel Version: 2003 or later

Re: Hanging after Save Server

Post by rkaif »

There could be few things behind this.

Most probably, your data in the RAM would be quite large and TM1 is trying to save it in the Server disk. Thats is why it is taking that long.
Cheers!
Rizwan Kaif
mattgoff
MVP
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2.6
Excel Version: O365

Post by mattgoff »

When you do a SaveDataAll, TM1 rewrites all cubes from scratch to the disk (then deletes old .cub and renames the .cub$). Most of the time is taken while the disk subsystem does the writes, not any CPU activity. If you have very large cubes, this is probably the reason for an apparent hang. I'd check perfmon to confirm.

Matt
Please read and follow the Request for Assistance Guidelines. It helps us answer your question and saves everyone a lot of time.
lotsaram
MVP
OLAP Product: TableManager1
Version: PA 2.0.x
Excel Version: Office 365

Post by lotsaram »

mattgoff wrote:When you do a SaveDataAll, TM1 rewrites all cubes from scratch to the disk
Not quite. During a data save TM1 only re-writes cubes to disk that have data changes, any unchanged cubes are skipped.