Save Data/Server Shutdown/Backup questions...

tcasey
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 9.5
Excel Version: Excel 2003 + 2007

Post by tcasey »

I've done a lot of reading/searching the internet/this forum and IBM documentation, and not finding it easy to put this together. I am an accountant (so be gentle) and have been the sole developer of our TM1 budgeting applications for about two years now. (We run the server in our dept and have in-house IT staff who looks after the server for us).

Up til now I have been manually saving data, shutting down the server and doing a backup. I want to automate this now, and followed the info in Nightly/Weekly TM1 Restart Implementation and Nightly TM1 backups:

http://blog.tm1tutorials.com/2011/10/03 ... mentation/
http://blog.tm1tutorials.com/2011/10/04 ... 1-backups/

Here is what I have done and my questions/problems:

-running server shut down from right click server/server manager/shutdown server works
-ti process to shut down server does not work completely (ti process obtained in above posts)

in Prolog
SaveDataAll();
ServerShutDown(0);

It takes down the server from the client TM1 Perspectives Server Explorer, but running this command in a dos window:
sc \\eh-cognos query budgetingtest

shows the server is still running, so probably not safe to start a backup from the same ti process using xcopy?

-save data:
right click a server while logged in as admin I see the following:

Menu Items Available (not greyed out)
-------------------------------------- --------------------------
Save Data Yes
Recycle(Clear memory for Local server) No
Shutdown No
View Transaction Log... Yes
View Message Log... Yes
View Audit Log... No
Process Audit Log Events... No
Start Performance Monitor Yes
Deferred Updates Yes
Server Manager Yes
Cancel Shutdown No
Who Am I Yes
Login As... No
Log Out Yes