What does TM1 stand for?

What does TM1 stand for?

Postby vladino » Thu Nov 11, 2010 8:53 am

Hi all,
one of our customers have asked what does TM1 abbreviation stand for. Does anybody know that? :)

Thanks,
Vladino
vladino
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 10:10 am
OLAP Product: Cognos TM1
Version: 9.5.1
Excel Version: Excel 2007

Re: What does TM1 stand for?

Postby kpk » Thu Nov 11, 2010 8:56 am

TABLE MANAGER 1
Best Regards,
Peter
kpk
MVP
 
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 11:57 pm
Location: Hungary
OLAP Product: TM1, CX
Version: TM1 7x 8x 9x 10x CX 9.5 10.1
Excel Version: XP 2003 2007 2010

Re: What does TM1 stand for?

Postby vladino » Thu Nov 11, 2010 8:59 am

Thank you Peter. :)
vladino
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 10:10 am
OLAP Product: Cognos TM1
Version: 9.5.1
Excel Version: Excel 2007

Re: What does TM1 stand for?

Postby jim wood » Thu Nov 11, 2010 1:13 pm

For further information visit the olap wiki (olapedia) which you can access from the langing page for this site.
Legal Advisory: These are my personal opions... My opinion is I'm right most of the time.
ACG TM1 / Essbase Consulting
Server(s): Windows Server 2008 SP1 64-bit. TM1 Version: 9.5.2 Client(s): Windows XP.
User avatar
jim wood
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2596
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 1:51 pm
Location: 1639 Route 10, Suite 107, Parsippany, NJ, USA
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: TM1 10.1.1 EV 9.5.0
Excel Version: 2007

Re: What does TM1 stand for?

Postby Martin Ryan » Thu Nov 11, 2010 8:04 pm

To be accurate, it did stand for that. It no longer stands for anything. If you start talking to TM1 people about table manager one it'll take a while for them to click what you're on about.

Martin
Please do not send technical questions via private message or email. Post them in the forum where you'll probably get a faster reply, and everyone can benefit from the answers.
TM1 New Zealand Kapiti Plumber
User avatar
Martin Ryan
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1796
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 9:08 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.1
Excel Version: 2010

Re: What does TM1 stand for?

Postby Solanna » Sat Nov 13, 2010 5:04 pm

Well Martin, I think it still DOES stand for Table Manager One... I certainly understand what you mean but there was a time prior to Applix (Back in the Sinper days) when .cub files were actually .tab files ;)
And TM1 used to be written as TM/1...

I guess when version 7 finally came out they could have changed the name to CM1 (Cube Manager One) but instead the bright marketing folks at Applix renamed the product to iTM1 only because someone thought it would sell better

That probably goes down as one of the most stupidist things that Applix ever did :lol:

You can only imagine how all of us partners felt about that one... since we first had to add the "i" to all of our literature, and then we had to take it out

Solanna
Solanna
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Redondo Beach, CA USA
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 9.5.2 to 10.2
Excel Version: 2007 - 2013


Return to Cognos TM1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 6 guests

Loading