Page 1 of 1

Dimension subset editor in TM1 Perspectives

Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2018 2:17 pm
by lax9
Hi All,

In TM1 Perspective Report I tried to open up the dimension subset editor, but not able to. (no error msg though )

what may be the reason that i am not able to go into the subset editor?

Please share your thoughts if you have idea on this. Thank you!

Re: Dimension subset editor in TM1 Perspectives

Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2018 3:16 pm
by Wim Gielis
It could be that the Subset Editor is shown (or TM1 tries to show) on a second monitor.
Do you have such a setup of a dual monitor ?

Re: Dimension subset editor in TM1 Perspectives

Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2018 3:53 pm
by lax9
no , it's not related to the monitor.

I believe the issue is within the excel sheet subnm formula (TM1 perspectives).
Able to open the same report and nable to access dimension subset editor from another instance on the same server.

Re: Dimension subset editor in TM1 Perspectives

Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2018 7:12 pm
by tm123
In my opinion, SUBNM formulas in TM1 Perspectives never work properly. I usually get Visual Basic Error when I double click on a SUBNM cell from Perspectives so I do all my testing from TM1Web

Re: Dimension subset editor in TM1 Perspectives

Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2018 9:34 pm
by Wim Gielis
tm123 wrote:
Thu Jun 07, 2018 7:12 pm
In my opinion, SUBNM formulas in TM1 Perspectives never work properly. I usually get Visual Basic Error when I double click on a SUBNM cell from Perspectives so I do all my testing from TM1Web
I wouldn't say "never", but you are right, we all have double-clicked SUBNM's just to end up with no ribbon icon labels. Or with the cell showing the SUBNM formula as text rather than the result. Or with Excel crashing. Or ......... just add to the list yourself.

Re: Dimension subset editor in TM1 Perspectives

Posted: Fri Jun 08, 2018 11:24 am
by Steve Rowe
The other reason that the subnm double click often fails is that people often try and reference another cell to get the server name, this will stop the double click from working.

=Subnm("Server:Dimension",....

works

=Subnm( A1 & ":Dimension",....

will not work

Re: Dimension subset editor in TM1 Perspectives

Posted: Fri Jun 08, 2018 11:44 am
by Wim Gielis
Steve Rowe wrote:
Fri Jun 08, 2018 11:24 am
The other reason that the subnm double click often fails is that people often try and reference another cell to get the server name, this will stop the double click from working.

=Subnm("Server:Dimension",....

works

=Subnm( A1 & ":Dimension",....

will not work
Just tested it and it works fine. PAL 2.0.4, Excel 2016. And I should say, it would be a shame if this would not work. How else are we supposed to keep the websheets maintainable ? I.e. TM1 servername in a named range or cell.

Re: Dimension subset editor in TM1 Perspectives

Posted: Fri Jun 08, 2018 12:08 pm
by Steve Rowe
AS Wim points out this behaviour does vary by version....

Re: Dimension subset editor in TM1 Perspectives

Posted: Fri Jun 08, 2018 1:40 pm
by tm123
Also another reason is Protecting the Sheet.

If you procect the sheet, you have to make sure that all the cells with SUBNM formulas are unlocked, otherwise you get a VBA error when you double click and after that point, you have to re-launch Perspectives.

But in TM1Web, the SUBNM will work fine even if you don't unlock the SUBNM cells

Re: Dimension subset editor in TM1 Perspectives

Posted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 2:48 pm
by lax9
Thank you all for the replies.

Based on your thoughts and recommendation I did check the subNM formulaes and noticed that they are pointing to another server , I set it to the correct server. Thank you All..