Rule based calculation for net cash

shinymcshires
OLAP Product: OlapObjects Publisher 5.0
Version: 9.5.1
Excel Version: 2003

Rule based calculation for net cash

Post by shinymcshires »

Fellow listers:

I'm a rules rookie writer. I just read Chapter 3 of the TM1 Rules Guide (Version 9.0). I'm using Excel 2003, TM1 is version 9.0 SP3.

I'm working on a project to help streamline the senior accountant's monthly cash reconciliation (he currently hand enters all of the cash transactions into a worksheet).

Cash cube: Contains the bulk of the transaction data with the following dims:

Cash_JE_Date
Cash_System
Fund
Program
Account
Project
Cash_Batch_No
Cash_Calendar_Month
Cash_Calendar_Year
Cash_Batch_Type
Cash_Data

What I'd like to do is bring in credit card data from two other cubes that have the following dims:

Cash_JE_Date
Cash_Batch_No
Cash_Calendar_Month
Cash_Calendar_Year

Based on the procedure of our accountant, he derives the "Net Cash" by (Gross Cash-Credit Card Charges) for one particular Fund. Given that, I came up with the following rule for the Cash cube:

['1101','101100','Net Cash']=N:['1101','101100','Net']-DB('CR CC3',!Cash_Batch_No,!Cash_Calendar_Month,!Cash_Calendar_Year,!Cash_JE_Date)-DB('UB CC2',!Cash_JE_Date,!Cash_Calendar_Month,!Cash_Calendar_Year,!Cash_Batch_No);

The rules editor allows me to save, but when I try to calculate while in the Cash cube viewer, I get the "Building Cube View" window for a few minutes, and then the following error message:
noerror.JPG
noerror.JPG (6.7 KiB) Viewed 5350 times
I'm sure I've written the rule wrong, but could use some guidance from some rules gurus. Thank you in advance for your time and thoughts.

If there is more information I can provide, please let me know. Thank you!
Richard Lee
Financial Systems Analyst
City of Millbrae
shinymcshires

Re: Rule based calculation for net cash

Post by shinymcshires »